Victorian Bushrangers

Sport Cricket
Country Australia Australia
Founding year 1851

The Victorian Bushrangers is a cricket team based in Melbourne that represents the state of Victoria. Cricket Victoria administers this team and the players are drawn from the Premier Cricket competition in Melbourne. The home ground of this team is the Melbourne Cricket Ground. An alternate home venue is the Junction Oval (St. Kilda Cricket Ground). This team takes part in the KFC Twenty20 Big Bash which is a recent Twenty20 competition, the Ford Ranger Cup which is a limited overs competition and the Sheffield Shield (or the Pura Cup) which is a first class competition.

The Victorian Bushrangers have been victorious in the Pura Cup in the following years - 1894-95, 1897-98, 1898-99, 1900-01, 1907-08, 1914-15, 1921-22, 1923-24, 1924-25, 1927-28, 1929-30, 1930-31, 1933-34, 1934-35, 1936-37, 1946-47, 1950-51, 1962-63, 1966-67, 1969-70, 1973-74, 1978-79, 1979-80, 1982-83, 1990-91, 2003-04. During these matches the highest individual score was attained in 1927-28 by WH Ponsford when he scored 437 against Queensland. The best individual bowling was attained in 1936-37 by EL McCormick when he took 9 wickets for 40 runs against South Australia. The team managed the highest score of 1107 in 1926-27 while playing against New South Wales. The lowest score against the Bushrangers has been 18 in 1868-69 by Tasmania.

The one day competition was won by the Victorian bushrangers in the years 1971-71, 1979-80, 1994-95, 1998-99. The highest individual score was attained in 1986-87 when DM Jones scored 139 not out against New South Wales. The best individual bowling was 5 wickets for 20 runs by GD Watson in 1969-70 while playing against Western Australia. The highest score of the bushrangers has been 352 for 8 in 2007-08 while playing against New South Wales.

Some of the notable batsmen of this team have been Dean Jones, Matthew Elliott, Brad Hodge, Bill Lawry and Bill Ponsford. Some of the memorable bowlers have been Paul Reiffel, Alan Connolly, Bert Ironmonger, Tony Dodemaide, Merv Hughes and Ray Bright.

Major achievements

The Victorian Bushrangers have won the Pura Cup 26 times, the Ford Ranger Cup 4 times and the Twenty20 Cup 3 times.

Show more less

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by MaxD
  • Share this page:

Member Activity


FB1 gave a rating of 7 to Victorian Bushrangers -

Latest Articles

Cricket article sidebar

CLT20: Victoria v Wayamba Preview at Centurion

The 16th game of the Champions League T20 will see the Victorian Bushrangers take on the Wayamba Elevens at Centurion Continue reading

Cricket article sidebar

CLT20: Preview of Victoria v Chennai at PE

The 13th game of the Champions League T20 will see the Chennai Super Kings take on the Victorian Bushrangers at Port Elizabeth, in what should be one of the biggest clashes of the tournament. Chennai goes into the game having won both their games, but they were against the Central Stags and Wayamba. Victoria have played two and won one, losing to t... Continue reading

Cricket article sidebar

CLT20: Preview of Warriors v Central at PE

The 12th game of the Champions League T20 will see the Central Districts try to notch up their first win in the tournament, when they take on the Warriors at Port Elizabeth. Warriors have won two matches out of two, while Central Districts have to win one. >The Central Districts had had a horrendous performance against the Chennai Super Kings in... Continue reading

Cricket article sidebar

Davey Jacobs guides Warriors to win over Bushrangers

The Warriors taught the Victorian Bushrangers a good lesson on Monday as they beat them by 28 runs Continue reading

Team Roster

Name Position
Andrew McDonald all-rounder
Steven Reid bowler
Daniel Robin Salpietro all-rounder
Clive Andrew Rose all-rounder
Andrew Loton Fekete bowler
Louis D Cameron bowler
Fawad Ahmed bowler
Guy Walker all-rounder
Jake Reed batsman
Dean Jeffrey Russ wicket-keeper
Daniel Christian all-rounder
Darren John Pattinson bowler
Mark Francis Cleary batsman
Clinton James McKay bowler
Robert Quiney batsman
Alexander Robert Keath all-rounder
Jonathan Mark Holland bowler
William Sheridan all-rounder
Ryan Carters wicket-keeper
Jasmes Muirhead bowler
Meyrick J Buchanan all-rounder
Brett Forsyth batsman
Christopher John Llewellyn Rogers batsman
Steve Thomas Gilmour bowler

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post