Southern Redbacks which is based in Adelaide is a first class cricket team. The home ground of this team is the Adelaide Oval. This is also the main training venue of the team. This team participates in the KFC Twenty20 Big Bash which is a Twenty20 tournament, the limited overs Ford Rangers Cup and the Sheffield Shield tournament.

The Southern Redbacks have been victorious in the Sheffield Shield Cup in the years 1893-94, 1909-10, 1912-13, 1926-27, 1935-36, 1938-39, 1952-53, 1963-64, 1968-69, 1970-71, 1975-76, 1981-82 and 1995-96. This team has won the One Day Cups in the years 1983-84 and 1986-87. The highest team score has been 821 for 7 while playing against Queensland in 1939-40.

Country Australia Australia
Founded 1887

The maximum runs for this team have been scored by Darren Lehmann, David Hookes and Greg Blewett. The highest individual score is 369 which has been scored by Don Bradman against Tasmania in 1935-36. Darren Lehmann has scored 42 centuries which is also the maximum number of hundreds scored. The maximum number of runs in a season is 1538 which have been scored by Barry Richards in 1970-71. The maximum wickets taken for this team are by Clarrie Grimmett (668), Ashley Mallett (415) and George Giffen (411). Shaun Tait has taken 65 wickets in a season which is the maximum number. In 1932-33 while playing against New South Wales Tim Wall took 10 wickets for 36 runs which is the maximum number of wickets taken in an innings. In 1885-86 while playing against Victoria George Giffen took 17 wickets for 201 runs which is the maximum wickets taken in a match.

The current squad has players like Matthew Elliott, Jason Gillespie and Darren Lehmann which are former international players. There are also players like Shaun Tait (right handed fast bowler), Mark Cosgrove (left handed opener) and Dan Cullen (off spinner) who in the past have represented Australia.

Major achievements

The Southern Redbacks have won the Sheffield Shield cup 13 times and the One Day Cup twice.