In the Indian Premier League the city of Hyderabad is represented by a franchise called “Deccan Chargers” which is owned by Deccan Chronicle. This is a media group that bid 107 million USD to attain this franchise. The CEO of this franchise is J Krishnan and the home ground is Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium. The mascot of this franchise is a charging bull that represents aggression, power and strength.

In the 2008 season (April-May) of the Indian Premier League the Deccan Chargers won the following matches against the IPL teams. On 27th April at Mumbai the team defeated Mumbai Indians by 10 wickets where Adam Gilchrist was the Man of the Match with a score of 109 not out in 47 deliveries. On 6th May at Chennai the team defeated Chennai Super Kings by 7 wickets and the Man of the Match was again Adam Gilchrist with a score of 54 in 36 deliveries.

Country India India
City Hyderabad
Founded 2008

Some of the prominent players in the Deccan Chargers team are as follows. The batsman-captain is V.V.S. Laxman of India who was paid 0.375 million USD. The wicket keeper of the team is Adam Gilchrist of Australia who was given 0.7 million USD. The all rounders in the team are Andrew Symonds of Australia for 1.35 million USD, Shahid Afridi of Pakistan for 0.675 million USD and Scott Styris of New Zealand for 0.175 million USD. The batsmen in the team are Rohit Sharma of India for 0.75 million USD, Herschelle Gibbs of South Africa for 0.575 million USD and Chamara Silva of Sri Lanka for 0.1 million USD. The bowlers in the team are Rudra Pratap Singh of India for 0.875 million USD, Chaminda Vaas of Sri Lanka for 0.2 million USD and Nuwan Zoysa of Sri Lanka for 0.11 million USD.

Major achievements

In the 2008 inaugural season of the Indian Premier League the Deccan Chargers participated in 14 matches out of which they won only 2 matches.