The County Championship is the domestic first class cricket competition in England and Wales. The championship was first played in 1890 with eight participating clubs and it currently consists of eighteen clubs.

The current champions are Durham CCC. Yorkshire CCC are the most frequent champions since 1890 with 30 wins.

Sport Cricket
Country England England
Founded 1890
Teams 18
Teams promoted / relegated 0

The Championship is made up of a First and a Second division. The bottom two team in the First division are relegated to the Second division and the top two in the Second division are promoted to the First division at the end of each season.