Caribbean Premier League Streaming, Squads, Predictions, Schedule & Tickets

Sport Cricket
Country West Indies West Indies
Founded 2013
Teams 0

The Caribbean Premier League is a West Indies-based T20 league that sees some of the top teams from the Caribbean fight it out for top T20 glory. Below you will get all the information from the Caribbean Premier League, or the CPL as it’s called, including the CPL squads, live streaming options, schedule, predictions, and ways to buy their tickets for the Caribbean Premier League.

History of Caribbean Premier League:

The first ever edition of the Caribbean Premier League was held in 2013, after the privately organised Stanford 20/20 was cancelled following two editions. Once the promoter of that tournament, Allen Stanford was charged with fraud and then arrested as a result, the West Indies Cricket Board kick-started with their own plans of a T20 tournament that was called the Caribbean T20. The winner of this tournament qualified for the Champions League T20 that used to be organised by the BCCI, CA and ECB.

The Caribbean Premier League was then born as a city-based, franchise tournament that consisted of six teams. The first season was held in 2013 between July 29 and August 26, and since then, the tournament has become a regular feature in the Caribbean cricketing calendar.

Other than the current teams, Antigua Hawksbill had participated in the first season of the tournament too but was later scrapped.

Currently, the six teams that feature in the Caribbean Premier League include:

  • Barbados Tridents
  • Jamaica Tallawahs
  • Trinbago Knight Riders
  • St. Lucia Stars
  • Guyana Amazon Warriors
  • St Kitts & Nevis Patriots

What Happened in the previous CPL season:

The previous season of the CPL was held between August 8 and September 16. All six teams played 10 games apiece during the league stage, with each side taking on every other team twice apiece on home and away basis.

Trinbago Knight Riders topped the league stage with 14 points while Guyana Amazon Warriors and Jamaica Tallawahs were second and third with 12 apiece but with the former having a marginally better NRR. St. Kitts & Nevis was the fourth-placed side and they also qualified for the playoffs.

Guyana won the first qualifier to make it to the final, beating the Trinbago Knight Riders, who were then left to play St Kitts & Nevis in the semi-final - or the second Qualifier as they call it. This was after St Kitts & Nevis chased down 192 against Jamaica Tallawahs in the Eliminator to knock them out of the tournament.

Trinbago Knight Riders edged out St Kitts & Nevis by 20 runs in the second Qualifier before beating Guyana in the final by eight wickets to lift the trophy.

Winners of Previous CPL Seasons:

  • 2013: Jamaica Tallawahs beat Guyana Amazon Warriors
  • 2014: Barbados Tridents beat Guyana Amazon Warriors
  • 2015: Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel beat Barbados Tridents
  • 2016: Jamaica Tallawahs beat Guyana Amazon Warriors
  • 2017: Trinbago Knight Riders beat St Kitts & Nevis Patriots
  • 2018: Trinbago Knight Riders beat Guyana Amazon Warriors

Current CPL T20 Format & Schedule

Six teams play in the tournament with each side facing off against the other five on a home and away basis. As a result all teams will be playing 10 matches apiece, with the top four sides at the end of this league phase qualifying for the playoffs.

In the playoffs, the team that finished at the top of the points table takes on the second-ranked team in the first playoff, called the Qualifier 1. The teams ranked third and fourth face off in the Eliminator. The winner of the first Qualifier makes it to the final while the losing team in that game face the Eliminator’s winner in the second Qualifier. The winner of the second Qualifier makes it to the final.

CPL T20 Schedule for 2019 Season (all local timings)

The 2019 edition of the Caribbean Premier League is expected to be played between August and September 2019. The schedule for this year’s tournament will be released in mid-2019.

How to watch the 2019 Caribbean Premier League Live Streaming & other Broadcast Options?

For now, the information around how to watch the 2019 CPL is yet to be released but below we have all of how the tournament was live streamed and watched on TV last year. This will be updated once there’s more information around it.

Here’re the other countries and how you can watch the Caribbean Premier League live streaming and on TV:

  • India: Star Sports
  • New Zealand: Sky Sport
  • Bangladesh: TBA
  • Pakistan: TBA
  • South Africa: TBA
  • Sri Lanka: TBA
  • UK: TBA
  • Canada: TBA
  • USA: Willow TV

The live telecast details of the Indian Premier League for the other countries will be updated as and when we get more information on it.

CPL T20 Tips & Predictions

We will update the match by match tips and predictions for this season of the Caribbean Premier League during the tournament.

CPL 2019 Squads

The Caribbean Premier League player-list will be announced after the annual draft that is held a few months before the start of the Caribbean Premier League. With the 2019 World Cup expected to end in mid-July, the CPL Draft for the upcoming edition can be expected to be held after that. Exact schedule for the draft will be released soon.

Caribbean Premier League Tickets

The Caribbean Premier League tickets for 2019 can be bought from the official website here.

Show more less

Team list