Indian Premier League is the world’s biggest T20 cricket league and is played on an annual basis in India and at times outside India in case the situation demands. It is organised by the BCCI and is usually scheduled in the months of April and May each year. The IPL schedule for the 12th edition of the tournament in 2019 will be updated below once it’s released as well.

There have been editions of the Indian Premier League which have begun in March as well, like the 2010 one and there was one which ended in June, the one in 2008 and 2014 but with the ICC having created a window for it, it’s usually held in the months of April and May. The schedule for the 2019 season of the IPL, could however, be changed around to try and finish the competition before the start of the cricket World Cup.

Sport Cricket
Country India India
Founded 2008
Teams 0

The 2019 Men’s Cricket World Cup will be played from May 30, which means the IPL Governing Council would like to have a gap of at least a couple of weeks before it. For the tournament to end mid-May, 2019, it might need an earlier than usual start or more two-game days will need to be played.

So far, the IPL schedule for the 2019 edition of the tournament hasn’t been released but you can expect that to happen any time soon.

Each of the eight teams in the competition, defending champions Chennai Super Kings, runner-up Sunrisers Hyderabad, three-time champions Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Daredevils, Kings XI Punjab, Rajasthan Royals and Royal Challengers Bangalore will face off against each other on a home and away basis.

What this means is that each team plays 14 games apiece, making it a total of 56 matches during the league stage of the competition. This stage is followed by the playoffs where the top four teams on the IPL points table face off in four matches including the final to decide the winner.

The 2019 Indian Premier League schedule will be updated below once it’s released by the IPL board.

Team list