In South Africa, the major domestic first class cricket competition is named as the SuperSport Series. Initially, in 1889-90, it was called as the Currie Cup after Sir Donald Currie, who donated the trophy. This competition was named as Castle Cup from 1990-91 and the present title, SuperSport Series is being used from 1996-97.

This tournament uses the round robin and knockout format. Currently, it has overall 6 participants – Warriors, Titans, Highveld Lions, Eagles, Dolphins and Cape Cobras. The most successful team in this competition from 1889 till date has been Gauteng Lions (earlier called as Transvaal) and this team has won the championship 25 times.

Sport Cricket
Country South Africa South Africa
Founded 1889
Teams 5
Teams promoted / relegated 0