The Ranji Trophy is an equivalent of the County Championship in England and Sheffield Shield in Australia. It is a domestic first class cricket tournament contested in India in which various states and cities participate. The name of the competition is obtained from Kumar Shri Ranjitsinhji, also called as Ranji and who was the Jam Sahib of Nawanagar.

From the 2006-07 season, the two divisions in the Ranji Trophy were called as Plate League and Super League respectively. The Plate League comprises of 2 groups of 6 teams each. The Super League is made of 2 groups of 8 and 7 teams. The top 2 teams from each group progress to the knock-out phase. The 2 teams at the bottom of the Super League are demoted to the Plate League. The finalists of the Plate League are promoted to the Super League.

Sport Cricket
Country India India
Founded 1934
Teams 17
Teams promoted / relegated 0