Cricket Article

ICC World T20 2012 squads: West Indies and Zimbabwe

ICC World T20 2012 squads: West Indies and Zimbabwe Photo: TT

Zimbabwe have named two uncapped players in their squad for the ICC World T20 to be played in Sri Lanka next month.

Medium-pacer Richard Muzhange has been selected together with left-arm fast bowler Biran Vitori with both the young bowlers yet to make their T20 debut. Vitori, however, has represented the team in tests and ODIs.

Overall, the squad does not have any major surprises though Heath Streak, the bowling coach, suggested that it was one of the hardest ones to pick. The team will be led by Brendan Taylor who had an unsuccessful run in the ongoing Sri Lankan Premier League.

Amongst the experienced players, Ray Price’s return would be considered extremely valuable after the slow left-arm bowler missed the unofficial tri-series against Bangladesh and South Africa.

Elton Chigumbura will perhaps be their most valuable player, contributing with both bat and ball. The team is placed alongside South Africa and Sri Lanka in Group C.

Zimbabwe squad for World T20 2012: Brendan Taylor (captain), Vusi Sibanda, Hamilton Masakadza, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Malcolm Waller, Elton Chigumbura, Craig Ervine, Graeme Cremer, Ray Price, Kyle Jarvis, Chris Mpofu, Richard Muzhange, Brian Vitori, Prosper Utseya, Forster Mutizwa

There were little surprises when the West Indian squad was announced for the ICC World T20.

The team, led by Darren Sammy, largely maintains the same look as the side that beat New Zealand 2-0 in the T20s in Florida last month.

Amongst the notable changes though are the comebacks of Darren Bravo and Andre Russell. Bravo suffered a groin injury on the tour of England and remained out of action against New Zealand.

Russell, on the other hand, overcame an ankle injury to feature in the ODIs while missing the T20s. The team overall boasts of several match-winners and would be a serious threat to the other sides.

The likes of Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard have shown their prowess in various T20 competitions around the globe.

Dwayne Bravo is also the vice-captain as West Indies look to ease through their group that features Australia and Ireland.

West Indian squad for World T20 2012: Darren Sammy (captain), Dwayne Bravo (vice captain), Samuel Badree, Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Fidel Edwards, Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith.

Rajeev mcallister
Sports Pundit staff writer

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image