Cricket Article

Champions League T20: Somerset, Leicestershire qualify for CLT20 playoffs

The Champions League T20 had its full suite of teams decided when the English pair of Somerset and Leicestershire made it through to the tournament with their entry into the final of the tournament. shahid afridi

Both, Somerset and Leicestershire won their semi-finals through the Super Over after the games had ended in ties and made it through to the final of the tournament to make it to the Champions League T20.

Later, Leicestershire beat Somerset in the final of the Friends Life T20 to make it through as the winners of the tournament.

The Champions League T20, which is in its third edition will see 13 teams fight it out for the crown. Of these 13, seven have already made it to the main draw of the tournament, while the remaining six will battle it out to grab the remaining three spots in the main draw of the competition.

The qualifiers will be played between Ruhuna from Sri Lanka, Trinidad and Tobago from the West Indies, Auckland from New Zealand and Kolkata Knight Riders from India apart from the two from England.

Three of these six will join the seven others; Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Mumbai Indians, South Australia, New South Wales, Cobras and the Warriors in the competition.

It was an interesting finals day in the Friends Life T20, what with Leicestershire being taken to the Super Over by Lancashire after a last-ball six from wicket-keeper Gareth Cross. Even in the Super Over, Lancashire seemed to have got going rather well, having got to 13 off the first four balls before a couple of dot balls from Claude Henderson restricted the target to 14. In reply Will Jefferson smashes two fours and a six to take the Leicestershire side home and through to the final of the tournament.marcus trescothick

In the other semi-final, Somerset needed to score 95 from 10 overs after rain had put paid to the hopes of having a full game. At 50/1 in five overs, the side seemed to be cruising towards a win, but Kieron Pollard and Marcus Trescothick fell in quick succession, before a super last over from Dominic Cork sealed the tie for the side. Unfortunately for Hampshire, Afridi was first tonked for 16 runs in the Super Over, before he managed to score only four runs off four balls as Somerset prevailed in the tense encounter.

In the final, Somerset won the toss, fielded first and restricted Leicestershire to 145 for six in their 20 overs before Joshua Cobb grabbed four wickets and bowled them out for 127 to win the trophy.

Rajeev mcallister
Sports Pundit staff writer

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image