Cricket Article

IPL award nights go ahead without honchos of BCCI

The IPL awards were announced last night in Navi Mumbai for the third edition of the tournament, and Sachin Tendulkar was named the best batsman and the best captain of the year.

However, what was more interesting was that none of the BCCI head honchos, except Lalit Modi and IS Bindra attended the awards function. The awards ceremony went ahead without the presence of BCCI president Shashank Manohar, secretary N Srinivasan and IPL vice-chairman Niranjan Shah. lalit modi

However, the people who attended consisted of the likes of Vijay Mallya (Royal Challengers Bangalore), Preity Zinta (Kings XI Punjab), Shilpa Shetty and Raj Kundra (Rajasthan Royals), Gayatri Reddy (Deccan Chargers) and Jai Mehta (Kolkata Knight Riders). Even Sunil Gavaskar, a member of the IPL Governing Council was a part, but, Ravi Shastri and MAK Pataudi missed out on the function.

The awards were as follows:

The IPL jury awards:

Best Debut Performance - Kieron Pollard (Mumbai Indians), Best Batsman - Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians), Best Bowler - Pragyan Ojha (Deccan Chargers), Best Dramatic Performance - Harbhajan Singh (Mumbai Indians), Most Consistent Performer - Jacques Kallis (Royal Challengers Bangalore), Best Breakthrough Performance 2008 - Brendon McCullum (Kolkata Knight Riders), Best Breakthrough Performance 2009 - Anil Kumble (Royal Challengers Bangalore), Best Fielder - AB de Villiers (Delhi Daredevils), Best Ground - Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore, Best Stadium Experience - DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai.

Rajeev mcallister
Sports Pundit staff writer

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image