Cricket Article

The Duleep Trophy

The Duleep TrophyDuleep Trophy sports> is a domestic first class cricket competition which is played in India. This trophy title is played between teams that represent different zones of India. For instance, central zone, west zone, east zone, south zone and north zone teams. This competition is named after Kumar Shri Duleepsinhji, who is also known as Duleep.

History of this trophy

This competition was conceived by the Board of Control for Cricket in India during the 1961-62 season. The inaugural tournament was won by the West zone who defeated the South Zone in the final match by 10 wickets. During this season, which is at the 1961-62 season, four of the five teams, with the exception of Central Zone had their bowling strength practiced by a West Indies Test Cricketer. The North Zone and the West Zone were the most successive teams of the five teams having 17 victories to their pocket. Here, the North zone total includes one shared trophy and the west zone includes three shared trophy.

The Format of the Game

As mentioned earlier, there are five teams that take part in the Duleep Trophy, North zone, south zone, west zone, east zone and central zone. At first, the format of the game was played between the five teams where each of the team played on a knock out basis. However, from the 1993-94 season, this tournament got converted to a league format.

For the 2002-03 season, the teams were replaced literally by five new teams, which were Elite A, Elite B, Elite C, Plate A and Plate B respectively. These teams were constructed from the new Elite Group along with the Plate Group divisions. Also, these groups were introduced with the Ranji Trophy during the same season, 2002-03. Nevertheless, this format lasted only for one such season as the new teams lacked a sense of identity.

So, from the next season onwards that is on 2003-04 season the five original zonal teams actually competed along with a sixth guest team which was the touring foreign team. During this season, the first guest team was the England team.

Composition of the teams

Each of the zonal teams is the composite team of cricketers that play for the Ranji Trophy state or a city team. This team is located in that specific region of India. The North Zone team includes Delhi, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Haryana and Jammu and Kashmir team. The South Zone includes Andhra Pradesh, Hyderabad, Kerala, Goa, Karnataka and Tamil Nadu team. The Central Zone team includes Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Railways and Vidarbha team. On the other hand, the East Zone team includes teams of Assam, Jharkhand, Tripura, Bengal and Orissa. The West Zone team includes Baroda, Maharashtra, Saurashtra, Gujarat and Mumbai team.

The Guest team includes a foreign team that competes as a sixth team in the Duleep Trophy. Some of the guest teams include England A, Bangladesh, Zimbabwe Cricket Union President’s XI, Sri Lanka A and England Lions team.

Abhay burande
Sports Pundit member

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image