India Remarkably Ends Australia's Gabba Domination To Win Series

India Remarkably Ends Australia's Gabba Domination To Win Series Photo: TT
Indian players celebrate with their trophy after defeating Australia by three wickets on the final day of the fourth cricket test at the Gabba

An under-manned India have produced a remarkable final day victory led by Rishabh Pant to win the Border-Gavaskar Series against Australia 2-1, ending the hosts’ 32-year unbeaten run at the Gabba in the process.

India secured a stunning victory by seven wickets late in the day, chasing down Australia’s target of 328 in sensational circumstances to not only retain the trophy, but win it.

The significance of the victory wasn’t lost on the Indians who celebrated with emotional scenes post-game, with several players running on to the pitch to celebrate with Pant who made 89no from 138 balls.

Pant was awarded the Player of the Match award for his stunning knock where he was the aggressor, supported by the likes of Chesteshwar Pujara (56 from 211) and Washington Sundar (22).

Opener Shubman Gill (91) had laid the platform for an unlikely run chase victory, before Pant accelerated things, with India preserving wickets.

Australia struggled to find a way to dismiss their opponents all day, managing only one wicket in the first session, with lone hand Pat Cummins having Rohit Sharma caught for 7 early.

The hosts took a further two wickets in the second session, with Pant elevated to bat at five, before finishing the job sensationally in the final session as India added 146 runs led by the wicketkeeper-batsman.

Cummins finished with 4-55, while Nathan Lyon could only manage two wickets for the Aussies, with Mitchell Starc struggling for impact.

Australia captain Tim Paine, who missed a key stumping, said: “In the key moments, whether it was bat, ball or in the field, we were found wanting and completely outplayed by a really disciplined, really tough Indian side who fully deserved the series win.”

Ben somerford
Sports Pundit staff writer @bensomerford
Australian journalist who specialises on all sports, focusing on football, tennis, basketball and racing, having written for global publications including FourFourTwo, AAP, Inside Futbol and many more....

Comment on This Article

Reply to