Cricket Article

Australian cricket in the 21st century

Pura Cup

The Pura Cup was played from 2000-01 onwards and up to 2006-07 was won by Queensland 3 times, New South Wales 2 times and once each by Victoria and Tasmania. Out of these teams, Tasmania won it for the first time in 2007. pura cup

West Indies tours

The West Indies toured Australia in 2000-01 and contested a five match Test series and a triangular one day series involving Australia and Zimbabwe. The Test series was won by Australia 5-0. In the finals of the one day series, Australia defeated West Indies by 2-0. In the 2004-05 season, West Indies participated in the VB Series Cup but were eliminated in the qualifying stage. In the 2005-06 season, Australia defeated West Indies by a score of 3-0 in the three match Test series.

Zimbabwe tours

Zimbabwe took part in the Carlton series in 2000-01, but could not reach the final. In 2003-04, Zimbabwe lost the two match Test series by a score of 2-0. In the 2003-04 VB series, Zimbabwe lost 7 out of the planned 8 One day Internationals and one was called off due to rain.

New Zealand tours

New Zealand played 3 Test series against Australia in 2001-02 and all the three Tests were drawn. In 2004-05, 2 Test matches were played between these two countries and both were won by Australia. On the same tour, the inaugural Chappell-Hadlee Trophy was played in which 1 match was won by Australia and New Zealand each and one match was drawn.

South Africa tours

In the 2001-02 season, South Africa played 3 Test matches against Australia and all three were won by Australia. In the 2005-06 season, Australia defeated South Africa in the 3 match Test series by a score of 2-0. Australia won the Twenty20 International by 95 runs. In the VB series, South Africa could not reach the final.

Pakistan tours

In the 2002 season, Pakistan defeated Australia 2-1 in a 3 match One day International series. In the 2004-05 series, Australia defeated Pakistan 3-0 in a 3 match Test series.

England tours

In the 2002-03 Ashes Test series, England was defeated by Australia by a score of 1-4 in the 5 Test series. In the VB series, England won 2 matches and was beaten in 6 matches. In the 2006-07 Ashes Test series, Australia defeated England by 5-0 in the 5 match Test series. Since 1920-21, this was the first Ashes series when Australia completed a whitewash. The 2006-07 Commonwealth Bank Series was won by England by defeating Australia 2-0 in the final.

Sri Lanka tours

In the 2002-03 VB series, Sri Lanka was eliminated in the qualifying stage of the championship. In the 2004 season, Australia defeated Sri Lanka by 1-0 in a 2 Test match series. In the 2005-06 VB series, Sri Lanka reached the final of the championship, but was defeated by Australia.

Bangladesh tours

In the 2003 season, Australia defeated Bangladesh by 2-0 in a 2 match Test series and by 3-0 in a 3 match Test series.

India tours

In 2003-04 season, the Indian team played 4 Test matches against Australia and drew the series 1-1.

Profile image 64x64
Sports Pundit member

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image