Cricket Article

Australia Register Crushing Win over South African Again

Australia Register Crushing Win over South African Again Photo: TT
Australia win the series 2-1

Australia beat South Africa by 97 runs to win their 3rd T20I and clinch the series by two matches to one.

For the third match in the series which was delicately balanced, both teams named unchanged sides.

South Africa won the toss in Cape Town, but it was Australia who got off to a strong start through their opening pair of Aaron Finch and David Warner. Together the pair put on 120 for the first wicket, scoring at more than 10 an over, until Warner was caught by David Miller off Anrich Nortje. He had made 57, including 2 sixes and 5 fours.

In the next over Finch departed, lbw to Tabraiz Shamsi for 55, having hit a six and 6 fours. Matthew Wade and Mitchell Marsh added 23 for the third wicket, before both fell in successive overs. Wade was caught behind off a delivery from Lungu Ngidi, having hit one side, and Marsh, who had made 19, also including a six, was caught by Shamsi, with Dwaine Pretorius the bowler this time.

However, Steve Smith and Alex Carey put on 16, and, after Carey was bowled by Kagiso Rabada, Smith and Ashton Agar added a further 22 off the last 8 balls, although Agar only scored one of them. Smith meanwhile was 30 not out at the end, scored off just 15 balls, and including 2 sixes.

He had helped Australia reach 193 5 from their 20 overs.

Each of the South African bowlers took a wicket apiece, but Shamsi was the most economical, conceding just 25 runs from his 4 overs.

South Africa were soon in trouble in their reply, losing captain Quinton de Kock in the first over, bowled by Mitchell Starc. Rassie van der Dussen and Faf du Plessis added 17, but du Plessis was caught by Adam Zampa off Mitchell Starc before van der Dussen and Heinrich Klaasen shared a stand of 34, the best of the innings.

Both though fell in the space of six balls. First to go was Klaasen, who was bowled by Zampa for 22, having hit one six, And then van der Dussen was caught by Zampa off his fellow spinner Agar, top scoring for his side with 24.

Zampa struck again to have Pite van Biljon leg before, before Miller and Pretorius added 22 for the 6th wicket. However, the last five wickets fell in 3 overs for the addition of just 9 runs. Miller was the first to go, caught by Finch off Pat Cummins for 15. Two balls later Pretorius was lbw to Marsh for 11.

Two wickets fell in successive deliveries in the 15th over, bowled by Agar, Nortje lbw and Ngidi bowled for a duck. And then Mitchell Starc wrapped up proceedings by having Rabada lbw.

South Africa had been bowled out for 96 in the 16th over.

For Australia Agar took 3 for 16, Starc 3 for 23, and Agar 2 for 16.

Suneer chowdhary
Sports Pundit staff writer @suneerchowdhary
ICC-accredited cricket journalist, covers Team India through their cricketing journey around the world

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image