Cricket Article

South Africa Snatch Win from Jaws of Defeat in Second T20I

South Africa Snatch Win from Jaws of Defeat in Second T20I Photo: TT
South Africa won the second T20I against Australia

South Africa beat Australia by 12 runs to win their second T20I, levelling the three match series in the process.

After their thrashing in the first match in the series on Friday, South Africa made three changes, bringing in Reeza Hendricks, Dwaine Pretorius and Anrich Nortje for JJ Smuts, Andale Pehlukwayo, and Dale Steyn. Australia, unsurprisingly, were unchanged.

It was South Africa who won the toss in Port Elizabeth and decided to bat first, with Quinton de Kock and Hendricks giving them a fast start, scoring 60 for the first wicket at nearly 10 runs an over. Hendricks was caught by Ashton Agar off a ball from Kane Richardson for 14, but de Kock and Faf du Plessis added 21, until Plessis fell to a catch by Richardson after a ball by Pat Cummins. He had made 15.

De Kock was leading from the front for his side, and he shared a stand of 40 with Rassie van der Dussen. However, having scored 70 off 47 balls, including 4 sixes and 5 fours, he was caught by Mitchell Starc off Adam Zampa.

Then it was the turn of van der Dussen to combine with David Miller, and the pair added 26, until van der Dussen, who had made 37, including 2 sixes and 2 fours, was dismissed off the last ball of the penultimate over, Agar with the catch and Richardson again the bowler. Miller and Pite van Biljon scored 11 off the last over, as South Africa closed their innings on 158 4.

Richardson was the pick of the Australian bowlers with 2 for 21.

In reply the Australian opening pair of David Warner and captain Aaron Finch put on 48 for the first wicket until Finch, who had made 14, was bowled by Lungu Ngidi. Warner and Steve Smith then added 50, until Smith was caught by Faf du Plessis off the bowling of Pretorius. He had made 29, including one six and a four.

Then it was the turn of Warner to share a stand of 26 with Alex Carey until the wicket keeper, having hit one six, was bowled by Ngidi for 14. And, two overs later, Ngidi took his third wicket when he had Mitchell Marsh caught by Miller.

From a position of strength Australia were struggling, and two balls later Matthew Wade was caught and bowled by Kagiso Rabada for just a single. Just 4 runs came off the next seven balls, and them Agar was bowled off the second ball of the last over bowled by Nortje. Warner and Mitchell Starc added a further 3, but Australia were well short of their target at the end, finishing on 146 6. Warner was unbeaten on 67, having hit a six and 5 fours, but, in the end, his efforts were in vain.

Ngidi took 3 for 41 for South Africa, and there was a wicket each for Rabada, Nortje, and Pretorius.

Suneer chowdhary
Sports Pundit staff writer @suneerchowdhary
ICC-accredited cricket journalist, covers Team India through their cricketing journey around the world

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image