Cricket Article

Redemption! Warner Wins Allan Border Medal

Redemption! Warner Wins Allan Border Medal Photo: TT
Ellyse Perry and David Warner

David Warner has been crowned Australia’s best male cricketer less than 12 months after returning from international exile following his ball-tampering ban.

Warner won the prestigious Allan Border Medal at Australian cricket’s night of nights on Monday at Crown Palladium in Melbourne.

The medal was Warner’s third following on from triumphs in 2016 and 2017 and comes after his fall from grace in light of the 2018 sandpaper scandal on tour against South Africa.

Warner topped the charts with 194 votes, one vote ahead of Steven Smith and Patrick Cummins was third with 185 votes.

Cummins was the reigning champion from 2019, while Smith triumphed in 2018, before he also was implicated in the sandpaper scandal.

The left-handed opening batsman did struggle with only 95 runs during the Ashes but his performances in home Tests against Pakistan and New Zealand and during the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup where he was second top scorer.

Emerging talent Marnus Labuschagne won the Test Player of the Year after his breakout season for Australia.

Aaron Finch won the ODI Player of the Year, while Warner claimed the T20I Player of the Year.

Ellyse Perry won the Belinda Clark Medal for the top female Australian cricketer, edging out Alyssa Healy who won the Female ODI and T20I Player of the Year gongs.

Ben somerford
Sports Pundit staff writer @bensomerford
Australian journalist who specialises on all sports, focusing on football, tennis, basketball and racing, having written for global publications including FourFourTwo, AAP, Inside Futbol and many more....

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image