Cricket Article

Pakistan Record Facile Win Against Bangladesh in First Test

Pakistan Record Facile Win Against Bangladesh in First Test Photo: TT
Pakistan beat Bangladesh to win the first Test

Pakistan won the first Test of their two-match Test series against Bangladesh by an innings and 44 runs.

For their one-off test in Rawalpindi, Pakistan won the toss and decided to bowl first, enjoying immediate success when Saif Hassan was caught by Asad Shafiq off the third delivery of the day, bowled by Shaheen Afridi. He was quickly followed back to the pavilion by Tamim Iqbal, lbw to Mohammad Abbas with no addition to the score.

Captain Mominul Haque and Nazmul Hossain Shanto led a recovery with a stand of 59, and, after Mominul was dismissed for 30, caught behind off Shaheen, Shanto and Mahmudullah put on 27 for the 4th wicket, but then Shanto was caught behind off Abbas for 44, and Mahmudullah was caught by Shafiq off the bowling of Shaheen for 25. Mohammad Mithun and Liton Das then shared a stand of 54, before Das was lbw to Haris Sohail for 33.

It was then the turn of Mithun to combine with Taijul Islam, and the pair put on 53 for the 7th wicket until Taijul, who had made 24, was caught by Yasir Shah off Haris. Mithun added 15 with Rubel; Hossain but the end to the innings came quickly. Rubel was bowled by Shaheen and then Mithun, who had made 63, including a six and 7 fours, was out, caught behind off Shaheen. Last man out was Abu Jayed. Run out, as Bangladesh were bowled out for 233 at the end of the first day.

Shaheen took 4 for 53, whilst Abbas and Haris both claimed 2 wickets apiece.

Beginning their reply on the second morning, Pakistan lost Abid Ali off the 8th ball of the day, caught by Das off Abu Jayed for a duck. Shan Masood and Azhar Ali then put on 91 for the second wicket until Ali fell to a catch by Shanto for 34, Jayed again the bowler. Masood then combined with Babar Azam in a stand of 112 for the third wicket, which saw Masood reached his third century, before he was bowled by Taijul Islam for exactly 100. He had struck 11 fours.

However, then Azam and Asad Shafiq then came together, as no more wickets fell in the day. Azam reached his 5th test century and was 143 not out overnight, whilst Shafiq was unbeaten in 60. Together they helped Pakistan reach 342 3 at stumps, already leading by 109 runs with 7 first innings wickets in hand.

However, the home side suffered a collapse on the third morning, losing their last 7 wickets for 103 runs. First to go was Babar without adding to his overnight score caught by Mithun off Jayed. His innings had featured one six and 18 fours. Then Shafiq, who had taken his score to 65, including 9 fours, was caught by Das, Ebadat Hossain the bowler this time. Mohammad Rizwan and Haris Sohail added 21, and, after Rizwan was caught by Mahmudullah off the bowling of Rubel Hossain, Haris added a further 41 with Yasir Shah.

However, Yasir was then lbw to Rubel for 5, and Shaheen fell in identical fashion soon afterwards. Haris then added 20 with Abbas, , but, having reached 75, including 2 sixes and 7 fours, he was caught by Tamim off Taijul. Naseem Shah was then run out as Pakistan were dismissed for 445.

Jayed took 3 for 86 for Bangladesh, and Rubel 3 for 113.

That meant Bangladesh were trailing by 212 when they started their second innings.

Tamim and Hassan put on 39 for the first wicket and, when Hassan was bowled by Naseem Shah for 16, Tamim added a further 14 until he was lbw to Yasir for 34. Shanto and Mominul then put on 71 for the third wicket, until there was a sudden collapse, as 16 year old Shah made history, becoming the youngest player to take an international hat-trick. First he had Shanto, who had struck one six, lbw for 38. Next ball he had Taijul lbw and then he had Mahmudullah caught by Haris. Next over Yasir bowled Mithun to reduce Bangladesh to 126 6 at close of play, still trailing by 86 runs with just 4 wickets remaining.

It took barely an hour to wrap matters up on the fourth day. First Mominul was lbw to Shaheen for 41, and after Das and Rubel had put on 26 for the 8th wicket, Rubel was lbw to Abbas. Das was lbw to Yasir for 29 who then finished things of by having Jayed caught by Shafiq. Bangladesh had been bowled out for 168 in their second innings.

Shah finished with 4 for 26 and Yasir 4 for 58.

Suneer chowdhary
Sports Pundit staff writer @suneerchowdhary
ICC-accredited cricket journalist, covers Team India through their cricketing journey around the world

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image