Cricket Article

Steve Smith Eases Australia to Win over Pakistan at Canberra

Steve Smith Eases Australia to Win over Pakistan at Canberra Photo: TT
Steve Smith Led Australia to a Win

Australia beat Pakistan by seven wickets in their second T20I, to take a one-nil lead in their best of three match series, thanks in large part to another fine inning from Steve Smith.

After rain forced the first game in the series to be abandoned with no result, both sides came into the second match in Canberra with unchanged sides.

Pakistan won the toss and chose to bat first, and they got off to a reasonable start with Babar Azam and Fakhar Zaman putting on 22, before Fakhar fell to the bowling of Pat Cummins, caught by David Warner.

In the following over, Haris Sohail was caught and bowled by Kane Richardson, before Babar and Mohammad Rizwan added 33, before Rizwan fell for 14, stumped by Alex Carey with Ashton Agar the bowler. Agar struck again to have Asif Ali caught by Cummins, but Babar and Iftikhar Ahmed then combined in a fifth wicket stand of 36, until Babar, who had just reached his 50, was run out by Warner.

Ahmed and Imad Wasim then put on 40 for the 6th wicket, and, although Wasim was run out by Steve Smith off the fourth ball of the last over. Ahmed helped his side reach 150 – 6 at the end of their 20 overs. He finished with 62 not out, scored off 34 balls, including 3 sixes and 5 fours.

In reply, David Warner and Aaron Finch gave Australia a fast start, putting on 30 for the first wicket in three overs before Warner was bowled by Mohammad Amir for 20. Finch and Steve Smith then added 18 before Finch was the next wicket to go, caught by Babar off the bowling of Mohammad Irfan.

Steve Smith and Ben McDermott then combined, and the pair put on 58 for the third wicket in a little over 7 overs until McDermott, who had made 21, was lbw to Wasim. However, Smith was in excellent form yet again, and, together with Ashton Turner, he saw his side to victory with 9 balls to spare. He scored 80 not out, including a six and 11 fours whilst Ashton, who scored the winning run, was unbeaten on 8.

Suneer chowdhary
Sports Pundit staff writer @suneerchowdhary
ICC-accredited cricket journalist, covers Team India through their cricketing journey around the world

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image