Cricket Article

Sri Lanka Edge Pakistan to Win Series 3-0

Sri Lanka Edge Pakistan to Win Series 3-0 Photo: TT
Sri Lanka win 3-0

Sri Lanka edged out Pakistan to win their third T20I and completed an unexpected series whitewash. They won by 13 runs.

With Sri Lanka having already won the series, both sides used the opportunity to make plenty of changes to their teams. The hosts made changes to their squad with Iftikhar Ahmed, Haris Sohail and Usman Shinwari coming to replace Umar Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad and Mohammad Hasnain. For their part, Sri Lanka replaced Avishka Ferrnando, Shehan Jayasuriya, Minod Bhanuka, and Nuwan Pradeep, with Angelo Perera, Oshado Fernando, Lahiru Madushanka and Sadeera Samarwickrama.

Sri Lanka again won the toss in Lahore and chose to bat first.

Danushka Gunathilaka and Samarwickrama opened the batting, but both fell at the end of the third and fourth overs respectively. Gunathilaka was bowled by Mohammad Amir for 8, and Samarwickrama was lbw to Imad Wasim for 12, Bhanuka Rajapaksa scored just 3 before he was caught by Asif Ali off Amir, but Perera and Fernando added 28, until Perera was run out for 13 by Sarfaraz Ahmed.

Fernando and Dasun Shanaka then put on 76 for the 5th wicket, in a stand that was totally dominated by Fernando. Shanaka eventually fell for 12, caught by Fakhar Ahmed off Wahab Riaz, and Madushanka was out for just a single, caught behind off Amir. However, Fernando, aided by Wanindu Hasaranga, managed to take the Sri Lanka score to 147 – 7 at the end of their 20 overs. Hasaranga was run out off the last ball, but Fernando ended the innings unbeaten on 78, having struck 3 sixes and 8 fours.

Amir with 3 for 27 was the pick of the Pakistan bowlers.

In reply, Pakistan lost Fakhar Zaman off the very first ball of the innings, bowled by Kasun Rajitha. But Babar Azam and Haris Sohail then put together a stand of 76 for the second wicket. Their partnership was broken when Babar, was caught behind of Lahiru Kumara for 27, and then, after Haris and Wasim had added a further 18, Haris departed in a similar fashion, this time Hasaranga the bowler. He had scored 52, including a six and 4 fours.

Next to fall was Wasim, caught by Hasaranga off Kumara for just 3, and he was quickly followed by Asif Ali who was caught by Gunathilaka with Hasaranga the bowler this time. When Hasaranga then bowled Sarfaraz for 17, Pakistan had stumbled to 111 – 6.

Iftikhar Ahmed and Wahab added an unbeaten 23, but, against tight Sri Lankan bowling, they had been left too much to do, and could only get the hosts up to 133 – 6 at the end of their 20 overs.

Ahmed was 17 not out at the end, and Wahab unbeaten on 14, but, in the end, their efforts were in vain.

Hasaranga took 3 for 21 for Sri Lanka, and Kumara 2 for 24.

Suneer chowdhary
Sports Pundit staff writer @suneerchowdhary
ICC-accredited cricket journalist, covers Team India through their cricketing journey around the world

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image