Cricket Article

Indian Premier League 2019: Chennai Storm into Final with a Win over Delhi

Indian Premier League 2019: Chennai Storm into Final with a Win over Delhi Photo: TT
Chennai Super Kings Make the Final Again

The Chennai Super Kings beat Delhi Capitals by six wickets to reach the IPL final.

It means that the defending champions will play in their eight final in ten years on Sunday and they will take on the Mumbai Indians.

Put into bat, Delhi struggled from the start, losing Prithvi Shaw early to the bowling of Deepak Chahar. Then fellow opener Shikhar Dhawan was caught behind off Harbhajan Singh for 18. Colin Munro and Shreyas Iyer put on 20, but Munro fell to Ravindra Jadeja for 27, and then Iyer was dismissed by Imran Tahir. In the next over Dwayne Bravo accounted for Axar Patel, reducing Delhi to 80 – 5.

Risbabh Pant and Sherfane Rutherford put on 22, but then the West Indian was caught by Shane Watson, with Harbhajan again the bowler for 10. Next to fall was Keemo Paul, bowled by compatriot Bravo, and then Pant, top scoring with 38 was caught by Bravo off Chahar, having hit one six. Trent Boult was bowled by Jadeja, leaving the last wicket pair of Amit Mishra and Ishant Sharma to take their side to 147 – 9 at the close of the innings, with Sharma undefeated on 10, and Mishra 6 not out.

There were two wickets apiece for Harbhajan, Jadeja, Chahar and Bravo, with the latter’s figures of 2 for 19 the best of all the bowlers.

Chennai’s reply got off to a fine start, with an opening stand of 81 between Faf du Plessis and Watson. Du Plessis was the first man out, caught by Paul off Boult for 50, including one six. Watson and Suresh Raina then added 28 before Watson too, fell for 50, caught by Boult off Mishra. He had struck 4 sixes. Raina and Ambati Rayudu put on 18, but Raina was bowled by Patel for 11, before Rayudu combined with MS Dhoni to take their side to the brink of victory. Dhoni fell just before the end to Ishant Sharma, but then byes were enough to give Chennai the win with a full over to spare. Rayudu was undefeated on 20.

Faf du Plessis was named man of the match for his opening innings.

Rajeev mcallister
Sports Pundit staff writer

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image