Cricket Article

Indian Premier League 2019: Chennai Thrash Delhi Capitals, Mumbai Become Third Team to Qualify

Indian Premier League 2019: Chennai Thrash Delhi Capitals, Mumbai Become Third Team to Qualify Photo: TT
Both Mumbai and Chennai won their Matches

The Chennai Super Kings thrashed the Delhi Capitals by 80 runs.

Delhi won the toss against Chennai Super Kings and put the home side into bat, gaining early success when Shane Watson was caught by Axar Patel, with Jagadeesha Sucith the bowler.

Faf du Plessis and Suresh Raina put on 83 for the second wicket, before du Plessis fell for 39, including 2 sixes, caught by Shikhar Dhawan off Patel. Raina added 15 with MS Dhoni, but he was the next man to fall, out top scoring with 59, again caught by Dhawan, with Sucith the bowler this time.

Dhoni and Ravindra Jadeja shared a stand of 43, but then Jadeja was caught and bowled by Chris Morris for 25 having hit 2 sixes. That left Dhoni, with 44 not out, and Ambati Rayudu, to steer their side to 179-4 at the end. Dhoni hit 3 sixes.

In reply, Delhi lost Prithvi Shaw in the first over, caught by Raina off Deepak Chahar. But with Dhawan and Shreyas Iyer at the crease, they appeared to have everything under control, until Dhawan was bowled by Harbhajan Singh for 19. At that point the Chennai spinners assumed mastery of the match, and six wickets fell in the space of six overs, with Imran Tahir and Jadeja claiming three wickets apiece.

Only Iyer made any sort of score, making 44 before he too became one of Tahir’s victims. Sucith was ruin out, before Tahir took his fourth victim, as Delhi were bowled out for just 99.

Tahir finished with 4 for 12, and Jadeja 3 for 9.

MS Dhoni was named man of the match.

Mumbai Indians Sunrisers defeated he Sunrisers Hyderabad courtesy of a super over to progress through to the pay-offs.

Mumbai won the toss and decided to bat first in front of their home fans. Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock put on 36 for the first wicket, but then Rohit fell for 24, caught by Mohammad Nabi off Khaleel Ahmed. Then de Kock and Suryakumar Yadav added 64, before two wickets fell in the space of an over – Yadav caught by Rashid Khan off Ahmed for 23, and Evin Lewis who fell to Nabi.

Then de Kock shared a partnership of 28 with Hardik Pandya, until he was caught off the bowling of Bhuvneshwar Kumar for 18. And then Kieron Pollard put on 32 for the fifth wicket, until he became the third victim of Ahmed, who finished with 3 for 42. Krunal Pandya added some late runs with de Kock who finished on 69 not out, featuring 2 sixes. He had helped steer his side to 162 – 5.

In reply Wriddiham Asha and Martin Guptill put on 40 before Saha was caught by Lewis off Jasprit Bumrah for 25, the paceman then claiming a second wicket when he had Guptill lbw for 15. Next to fall was Kane Williamson, lbw to Krunal Pandya for just 3. Manish Pandey and Vijay Shankar added 35, before Shankar fell to Krunal Pandya for 12, with his namesake Hardik then taking the wicket of Abhhishek Sharma in the next over.

However, Pandey and Nabi combined in a stand of 49 to bring their side back into contention, until Nabi, who had scored 31, including 2 sixes, was caught by Yadav off Hardik Pandya. Pandey, who finished 71 not out, including 2 sixes, got the runs needed to level the scores, forcing a Super Over decider.

In the Super Over itself, Bumrah stifled Hyderabad restricting them to 8/2 which Mumbai passed in three balls.

Bumrah thus earned himself the man of the match award.

Rajeev mcallister
Sports Pundit staff writer

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image