Cricket Article

Indian Premier League 2019: Kolkata Lose Again, Mumbai Do the Double

Indian Premier League 2019: Kolkata Lose Again, Mumbai Do the Double Photo: TT

The Rajasthan Royals beat the Kolkata Knight Riders by three wickets in Kolkata.

Put into bat, Kolkata lost Chris Lynn off the third ball of the innings to Varun Aaron who then had Shubman Gill law for 14. He also caught Nitish Rana off the bowling of Shreyas Gopal for 21, before Dinesh Karthik and Sunil Narine added 38 for the 4th wicket.

Aaron was then back in the action, running out Narine for 11, before Andre Russell and Karthik combined with a stand of 39. Russell, though fell victim to the bowling of his international team mate Oshane Thomas, and another West Indian, Carlos Braithwaite, fell cheaply to Jaydev Unadkat. However, Karthik added a further 44 with Rinku Singh, who scored just three of them, as the home side closed on 175 – 6, with Karthik unbeaten on 97. He had hot 9 sixes.

Aaron, with 2 for 20 was the best of the bowlers.

Ajinkya Rahane and Sanju Samson gave the visitors a good platform, putting on 53 for the first wicket, but then both were out in short order. Rahane was lbw to Narine for 34, and Samson bowled by Piyush Chawla for 22. Steve Smith fell cheaply to Narine, and Ben Stokes was caught off Chawla, but Riyan Parag and Stuart Binny added 20 before Binny gave Chawla a third wicket, out for 11.

Gopal was the next man to fall for 18, caught by Gill, with Prasidh Krishna the bowler, but Parag and Jofra Archer shared a valuable partnership off 44, before Para hit his own wicket off Russell for 47, having scored 2 sixes. Archer, however, got the needed runs on his own, finishing 27 not out, as Rajasthan reached their target with 4 balls to spare.

Aaron was named man of the match for his bowling and contribution in the field.


The Mumbai Indians beat the Chennai Super Kings by 46 runs.

Put into bat in Chennai. Mumbai suffered an early loss when opener Quinton de Kock was caught by Ambati Rayudu off Deepak Chahur for 15. Rohit Sharma and Evin Lewis then shared a stand of 75 for the second wicket , until Lewis, who had scored 32, including a six, was caught by Dwayne Bravo, with Mitchell Santner the bowler. Krunal Pandya fell to Imran Tahir in the next over, and then Rohit, who had amassed 67, including 3 sixes, fell to the bowling of Santini, caught by Murali Vijay.

It was left to Hardik Pandya, who finished 23 not out, and Kieron Pollard, unbeaten on 13, to add an unbeaten 33 as the visitors closed on 155 – 4.

Chennai suffered an early loss of their own, Shane Watson caught by Rahul Chahar, Lasith Malinga the bowler. Things then got worse for the home side, with Suresh Raina caught by Suryakumar Yadav off Hardik Pandya, and then Rayudu bowled by his namesake Krunal. The same bowler then struck again, bowling Kedhar Jadhav. Next to fall was Dhruv Shorey, caught by Chahar off Anukul Roy, followed by Vijay, who had held the innings together, scoring 38, caught by Yadav with Jasprit Bumrah this time the bowler.

Bravo and Santner led a brief recovery with a partnership of 33, but then Bravo was caught and bowled by Malinga for 20, with Deepak Chahar falling in the following over to Bumrah. The end came quickly in the next over, with first Harbhajan Singh falling to Malinga, who, two balls later, claimed Santner, out for 22, including 2 sixes, as the home side were bowled out for 109.

Malinga finished with 4 for 37.

Rohit Sharma was named man of the match.

Rajeev mcallister
Sports Pundit staff writer

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image