Cricket Article

Indian Premier League 2019: Bangalore Edge out Kolkata, Rajasthan, Delhi Win

Indian Premier League 2019: Bangalore Edge out Kolkata, Rajasthan, Delhi Win Photo: TT
Kohli Guided Bangalore to a Win

The Royal Challengers Bangalore beat the Kolkata Knight Riders by 10 runs.

Put into bat in Kolkata, Bangalore suffered an early loss when Parthiv Patel was caught by Nitish Rana with Sunil Narine the bowler. Virat Kohli and Akshdeep Nath put on 41, but Nath was caught by Robin Uthappa off Andre Russell for 13, bringing Moeen Ali to the crease. He and Kohli put on 90 for the third wicket, with Ali very much to the fore, hitting 66 off just 28 balls, including 6 sixes.

He fell at the end of the sixteenth over, caught by Prasidh Krisha off Kuldeep Yadav, and Kohli then took on the main responsibility for scoring, as he added 64 off the last 4 overs with Marcus Stoinis. Kohli fell to the last ball of the innings to Harry Gurney for exactly 100, including 4 sixes, but he had helped his side close on 213/4. Stoinis was undefeated on 17.

In reply, Kolkata lost Chris Lynn at the end of the first over, caught by Kohli with Dale Steyn the bowler. Narine and Shubman Gill added 18, but then both fell in successive overs; Narine to the bowling of Navdeep Saini for 18, and Gill to Steyn. Uthappa and Rana led a recovery with a stand of 44, but it was broken when Stoinis had Uthappa caught for 9 by Pawan Negi.

With Kolkata way behind the asking rate, the result seemed a fair gone conclusion. But Rana and Russell staged a storming fightback with a stand of 118 for the 5th wicket that had Bangalore deeply worried. Russell fired 65 off just 25 balls, including 9 sixes, but he was run out off the penultimate ball for 65 by Kohli, as his side could only muster 203 – 5. Rana was 85 not out, having managed 5 sixes but, in the end, it was not enough.

Kohli was given the man of the match award. Saturday

The Rajasthan Royals beat the Mumbai Indians by 5 wickets.

Rajasthan led by new captain Steve Smith, who replaced the sacked Ajinkya Rahane, won the toss in Jaipur and invited Mumbai to bat fist, enjoying early success when Rohit Sharma was caught and bowled by Shreyas Gopal. Quinton de Kock and Suryakumar Yadav then shared a stand of 97 before both fell within the space of five balls. Yadav caught by Dhawal Kulkarni for 34, with Stuart Binny the bowler, and then de Kock, who had struck 2 sixes, caught by Ben Stokes off Gopal. Hardik Pandya and Kieron Pollard added 13, but Pollard was bowled by Jaydev Unadkat for 10, and then Pandya fell lbw to Jofra Archer for 23. Ben Cutting added some late runs as Mumbai closed on 161 – 5.

Rajasthan lost Rahane to the bowling of Rahul Chahar for 12, but Smith and Sanju Samson put on 37, before Samson was caught by Pollard off Chahar for 35. Chahar then claimed a third wicket when he bowled Stokes for a duck, but Smith and teenager Riyan Parag then added 70, as the Royals cruised towards their target. Parag, who had hit one six, was run out for 43, and Ashton Turner fell without scoring, but Smith combined with Binny to get the runs needed, with 11 balls to spare. Binny was 7 not out at the end, whilst Smith, with one six to his name, was undefeated on 59.

Smith, appropriately, was man of the match.

The Delhi Capitals beat the Kings XI Punjab by 5 wickets.

Put into bat in Delhi, Punjab struggled from the start, losing KL Rahul in the second over to the bowling of Sandeep Lamichhane, and then Mayank Agarwal to Kagiso Rabada. Next to fall was David Miller, caught by Prithvi Shaw with Axar Patel the bowler. Chris Gayle had held the innings together with a typically aggressive 69, including 5 sixes, but he was caught by Patel of Lamichhane, with Sam Curran falling four balls later to the same bowler, caught and bowled.

Mandeep Singh and Ravichandran Ashwin added 23, but Singh fell for 30, stumped off Patel, leaving Ashwin to combine with Harpreet Brar with a late stand of 23. Ashwin was the last man to fall to Rabada for 16, leaving Brar 20 not out, as his side closed on 163 – 7.

In reply, Delhi lost Shaw run out for 13, but Shikhar Dhawan and Shreyas Iyer steadied the home nerves with a stand of 92 for the second wicket. Dhawan, having hit one six, was caught by Ashwin off the bowling of Hardus Viljoen, and the same bowler accounted for Risbabh Pant who fell cheaply.

Iyer though added 27 for the 4th wicket with Colin Ingram and although both Ingram, who had scored 19, and Patel, fell off successive balls, Ingram bowled by Mohammed Shami, and Patel, run out, Iyer guided his side to victory, with Sherfane Rutherford at the other end. Iyer, who had had hit one six, was undefeated at the end of 58, as Delhi won with two balls to spare.

Shreyas Iyer was named man of the match.

Rajeev mcallister
Rajeev McAllister
Sports Pundit staff writer

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image

Related Articles