Cricket Article

Indian Premier League: Sunrisers Stun Dhoni-less Chennai, Mumbai Extract Sweet Revenge over Delhi

Indian Premier League: Sunrisers Stun Dhoni-less Chennai, Mumbai Extract Sweet Revenge over Delhi Photo: TT
Hardik Pandya's Strong Hitting Won Him the M.O.M. Award Again

The Sunrisers Hyderabad easily beat the Chennai Super Kings, winning by six wickets.

Winning the toss in Hyderabad, Chennai got off to a fine start with Shane Watson and Faf du Plessis giving them a good platform with an opening stand of 79. Both then fell in the space of 3 balls, Watson bowled by Shahbaz Nadeem for 31, and du Plessis, who had hit 3 sixes, caught behind off the bowling of Vijay Shankar. From that point on the visitors began to struggle. Suresh Raina and Ambati Rayudu added 16, but then both Raina and Kedar Jadhav were lbw to Rashid Khan.

The following over saw Sam Billings fall to Khaleel Ahmed, and although Rayudu and Ravindra Jadeja shared an unbeaten stand of 31, the scoring rate was kept low, restricting Chennai to just 132 – 5 from their 20 overs, Rayudu was unbeaten on 25, and Jadeja 10 not out, with Khan the best of the bowlers with 2 for 17.

Hyderabad in return got off to a fine start of their own with David Warner and Jonny Bairstow scoring a rapid 66, before Warner, the leading run scorer in this year’s IPL was caught by du Plessis of Deepak Char for 50.. Kane Williamson was then caught and bowled by Imran Tahir as Chennai tried to fight back.

However, Bairstow and Shankar added 34, and although Shankar fell for 7 caught by Billings off Tahir, Bairstow then combined with Deepak Hooda to take his side to the brink of victory. Hooda was caught by du Plessis off Ishant Sharma for 13, but Bairstow won the match in style with a six, as his side cruised to victory with more than 3 overs to spare. He was 61 not out at the end, having hit 3 sixes in all.

David Warner was named man of the match.

On Thursday, the Mumbai Indians thrashed the Delhi Capitals by 40 runs.

It was Mumbai who won the toss in Delhi and opted to bat first, with Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock providing a good platform with a stand of 57 before two wickets fell quickly, Rohit bowled by Amit Mishra for 30, and Ben Cutting lbw to Axar Patel. De Kock was the next man to go, run out for 35, having hit 2 sixes, leaving Suryakumar Yadav and Krunal Pandya to share a stand of 30, before Yadav was caught behind off Kagiso Rabada.

Krunal then combined with his namesake Hardik in a partnership of 58, which came to an end in the final over when Hardik, who had struck 3 sixes, was caught behind off Rabada for 32. However, Krunal was undefeated on 37, helping his side close on 168 – 5.

Delhi began reasonably enough, with Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan, who put on 49 for the first wicket, but, once Dhawan was bowled by Rahut Chahar for 35, that prompted a collapse of the top order. Shaw was caught by Hardik Pandya off Chahar for 20, quickly followed by Colin Munro who was bowled by Krunal Pandya. Shreyas Iyer gave Chahar a third wicket, before Risbabh Pant was bowled by Jasprit Bumrah.

Patel and Chris Morris put on 31, but then three wickets fell in three balls, Morris to the bowling of Lasith Malinga for 11, Keemo Paul run out without facing a ball, and Axar Patel, who had struck 3 sixes, bowled by Bumrah. Rabada and Misrah scored a few late runs but Rabada fell in the last over to Hardik Pandya for 9, as his side limped to 128 – 9.

Chahar finished with 3 for 19 but the man of the match award went to Hardik Pandya.

Rajeev mcallister
Sports Pundit staff writer

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image