Cricket Article

Indian Premier League 2019: CSK Juggernaut Continues, Delhi go to Second

Indian Premier League 2019: CSK Juggernaut Continues, Delhi go to Second Photo: TT
MS Dhoni has led CSK to seven wins now

The Royal Challengers Bangalore beat the Kings XI Punjab by 8 wickets on Saturday.

Punjab were put into bat after losing the toss in Chandigarh, but got off to affine start through Chris Gayle and KL Rahul who put on 66 for the first wicket until Rahul was stumped off Yuzvendra Chahal for 18, having hit one six. Mayank Agarwal joined Gayle in the middle but, after a brief cameo of 15, he was bowled by Chahal. Sarfaraz Khan was the next man to bat, and he too scored 15, but he was caught off the bowling of Mohammed Siraj, before Moeen Ali had his England team mate Sam Curran lbw.

However, Mandeep Singh gave Gayle the support he needed, and the pair added an unbeaten 60 for the fifth wicket, as they took Punjab to 173 -4 at the close of their innings. Singh was 18 at the end whilst Gayle finished on 99 not out, tantalisingly close to his century. His innings featured 5 sixes.

In reply, Parthiv Patel and Virat Kohli put on 43 for the first wicket, before Patel was caught by Agarwal off the bowling of Ravichandran Ashwin. Kohli and AB de Villiers then shared a stand of 85 which kept their side in touch, before Kohli fell to the bowling of Mohammed Shami for 67, caught by Ashwin. However, Marcus Stoinis joined de Villiers in the middle and, together, the pair steered their side to victory, with 4 balls to spare. Stoinis finished unbeaten on 16, whilst de Villiers, who hit 2 sixes, was 59 not out.

De Villiers effort earned him the man of the match award.

The Chennai Super Kings beat the Kolkata Knight Riders by five wickets.

Put into bat, Kolkata’s innings was held together by opener Chris Lynn who scored 82 out of a final total of 161 – 8. He shared stands of 38, and 41 respectively with Sunil Narine (2) and Nitish Rana (41) and then after Robin Uthappa was dismissed cheaply, added a further 41 before he became one of four victims of veteran South African spinner, Imran Tahir. After his innings, which contained 6 sixes, came to an end, Tahir took the wicket of danger man Andre Russell, until Karthik himself was out for 18 to Shardul Thakur. The last two balls of the innings saw two more wickets fall, Shubman Gill to Thakur, and Kuldeep Yadav run out.

In reply, Chennai lost Shane Watson lbw to Harry Gurney, and then Faf du Plessis who was bowled by Narine for 24. Suresh Raina and Ambati Rayudu then shared a stand of 17, although they found it hard to score, before Rayudu was caught off the bowling of Piyush Chawla. Raina and Kedar Jadhav put on 20, and then, when Jadhav was lbw to Chawla, Raina shared a stand of 40 with his captain MS Dhoni. He was lbw to Narine for 16, but Ravindra Jadeja then joined Raina in the middle, and the pair saw their side home with 4 balls to spare.

Raina was 58 not out at the end, with one six to his name, whilst Jadeja was undefeated on 31.

Tahir who took 4 for 27 was named man of the match.

Delhi Capitals beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by 39 runs.

Put into bat in Hyderabad, Delhi got off to a poor start, losing both openers, Privthi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan, cheaply, the pair falling to the bowling of Khaleel Ahmed. Colin Munro and Shreyas Iyer shared a brisk partnership of 49, and, when Munro was caught off Ishant Sharma for 40, including 3 sixes, Iyer and Risbabh Pant combined to add 56.

Both fell within 3 balls of each other, Iyer to Bhuveshwar Kumar for 45, and Pant giving Khaleel a third wicket when he had reached 23. Chris Morris fell cheaply, but Axar Patel and Keemo Paul added 19 late runs, before Paul was lbw to Kumar. Patel was undefeated on 14 as his side closed on 155 – 7.

In response David Warner and Jonny Bairstow put on 72 before Bairstow, who had hit one six, was out caught by Kagiso Rabada off the bowling of Paul for 41. The same Rabada-Paul combination then accounted for Kane Williamson, and, after Warner and Ricky Bhui had added 23, Paul dismissed Bhui to claim his third wicket.

Then Rabada struck two decisive blows in successive blows, first having Warner, the IPL’s top scorer this season, caught by Iyer for 51, having managed one six. And then he had Vijay Shankar caught behind. In the next over Morris bowled Deepak Hooda as the home side collapsed, and then had Rashid Khan caught by Paul off the very next over. Rabada then wrapped up the innings, having Kumar caught and bowled, and then bowling Ahmed for a duck, as Hyderabad were bowled out for 116.

Rabada finished with figures of 4 for 22, whilst Morris claimed with 3 for 22.

However, it was Keemo Paul who claimed the man of the match award with 3 for 17.

Rajeev mcallister
Sports Pundit staff writer

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image