Cricket Article

Indian Premier League 2019: Kings XI Punjab Make it Four Wins

Indian Premier League 2019: Kings XI Punjab Make it Four Wins Photo: TT
R Ashwin Spun Kings XI Punjab to a Win

Delhi Capitals beat the Royal Challengers Bangalore by 4 wickets in Bangalore.

Put into bat, Bangalore lost Parthiv Patel to Chris Morris for 9, before Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers put on 24 for the second wicket, their stand interrupted when de Villiers became one of four victims of his South African test mate, Kagiso Rabada, caught by Colin Ingram for 17. Marcus Stoinis and Kohli added 26, but the Australian fell to the bowling of Axar Patel for 15.

There then ensured the best partnership of the innings between Moeen Ali and Kohli, that ended when the pair had put on 39, with Ali stumped for 32, with Sandeep Lamichhane the bowler.

Kohli and Akshdeep Nath shared a stand of 30, but Rabada removed them both, Kohli for 41 and Nath for 19, and then followed that up with the wicket of Pavan Negi. Mohammed Siraj was out to the bowling of Morris, with Tim Southee 9 not out at the end, as Bangalore closed on 149 – 8.

Rabada finished with 4 for 21.

Delhi lost Shikhar Dhawan off the third ball of their innings to Southee, but Prithvi Shaw and Shreyas Iyer put on 68 together, before Shaw was out for 28 to Negi. Then Ingram and Iyer added 39 to put their side in control, until Ingram was lbw to Moeen for 22.

Iyer and Risbabh Pant then shared a 4th wicket stand of 37, before Iyer, who had hit 2 sixes, was out to the bowling of Navdeep Saini for 67. In a late flurry of wickets, Marris was caught off the bowling of Saini, and Pant fell to Mohammed Siraj for 18, but Patel and Rahul Tewatia saw their side home with 7 balls to spare.

Kagiso Rabada was named man of the match.

The Kolkata Knight Riders beat the Rajasthan Royals by 8 wickets.

Kolkata won the toss in Jaipur and, opting to bowl first, got off to a good start when Ajinkya Rahane was lbw to Prasidh Krishna in the second over. Jos Buttler and Steve Smith put on 72 for the second wicket, but, when Buttler had scored 37, including a six, he was caught by Shubman Gill off Harry Gurney. Smith and Rahul Tripathi added 28 but the scoring rate was kept down by Kolkata, with Tripathi falling eventually to Gurney for 6. It was left to Smith, who was unbeaten at the end on 73, including a six, and Ben Stokes to provide some late impetus, and Rajasthan closed on 139 – 3.

Kolkata made an excellent start to their innings, with Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine sharing an opening stand of 91 off little more than 8 overs. Narine, who had hit 3 sixes, was caught by Smith off Shreyas Gopal for 47, but Lynn and Robin Uthappa, then added 23, as their side cruised to victory. Lynn, having hit 3 sixes of his own, was out for 50, caught by Sudhesam Midhun off the bowling of Gopal, but Uthappa and Shubman Gill got the runs required, as Kolkata reached their target with more than 6 overs to spare.

Uthappa, with 2 sixes to his name, was unbeaten on 26, with Gill 6 not out.

Gurney’s spell of 2 for 25 won him the man of the match award.

The Kings XI Punjab squeezed past the Sunrisers Hyderabad, winning by 6 wickets with one ball to spare.

Put into bat in Chandigarh, the Sunrisers lost Jonny Bairstow early, caught by Ravichandran Ashwin off the bowling of Mujeed Ur Rahman, but David Warner and Vijay Shankar put on 49 for the second wicket, although they found runs hard to come by. Shankar was caught by KL Rahul off Ashwin for 12, before Mohammad Nabi and Warner shared a stand of 24.

Nabi was run out by Ashwin for 12, leaving Manish Pandey to inject some impetus into the innings, putting on 55 for the 4th wicket with Warner. Pandey was caught off the first ball of the last over for 19, Sandeep Sharma the bowler, but Deepak Hooda scored 14 off the last five balls, including a six, to help his side to 150 -4. At the other end, Warner was unbeaten on 70, which included one six.

In reply, Chris Gayle made a typically aggressive start, scoring 16 before he was caught by Hooda off the bowling of Rashid Khan. Rahul and Mayank Agarwal then put their side in control with a stand of 114 for the second wicket, but with the finish in sight, Agarwal was caught by Shankar off Sandeep Sharma for 55. He had struck 3 sixes.

David Miller was caught by Hooda off Shankar for just 2, and then Mandeep Singh gave Hooda a third catch of the innings with Siddarth Kaul the bowler this time. With home nerves jangling, Rahul and Sam Curran guided their side home, with Rahul unbeaten on 71, with a six and seven fours to his name.

Rahul was named man of the match.

Rajeev mcallister
Sports Pundit staff writer

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image