Cricket Article

IPL 2019 Round-Up: Chennai Super Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad Top of the Table

IPL 2019 Round-Up: Chennai Super Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad Top of the Table Photo: TT
Chennai Keep Winning, Bangalore Keep Losing

The Kolkata Knight Riders beat the Royal Challengers Bangalore by five wickets

Winning the toss, the Knights invited Bangalore to bat first, but were soon made to question the wisdom of that decision as Parthiv Patel and Virat Kohli put on 64 for the first wicket. Patel was lbw to Nitish Raina for 25, but Kohli, who had been out of sorts in the IPL so far this series, found some form, and added 88 for the second wicket with AB de Villiers. He eventually fell, having hit 2 sixes, caught and bowled by Kuldeep Yadav, followed shortly afterwards by de Villiers, out caught by Shubman Gill off the bowling of Sunil Narine for 63, having struck 4 sixes of his own. But Marcus Stoinis hit 28 not out off just 13 balls, including a six, to help his side close on 205 – 3.

In reply, Kolkata got off to a rapid start through Chris Lynn and Suril Narine, before Narine fell for 10. Lynn and Robin Uthappa then shared a stand of 65 for the second wicket, before Uthappa fell to the bowling of Pawan Negi for 33. Two overs later, Lynn, who had scored 43, including 2 sixes, was bowled by Negi. Nitish Rana and Dinesh Karthik then put on 31, before both fell in the space of 8 balls, Rana for 37, including 2 sixes to the bowling of Yuzvendra Chahal, and Karthik, who was caught by Chahal for 19, with Navdeep Saini the bowler.

The stage then was set for Andre Russell and he effectively won the match for Kolkata, smashing 48 off just 13 balls, including 7 sixes. Together with Gill, who scored just 3, he put on an undefeated 53 for the sixth wicket, which saw the visitors reach their target with 5 balls to spare.

Andre Russell’s innings earned him the man of the match award.

The Chennai Super Kings beat the Kings XI Punjab by 22 runs in Chennai.

Winning the toss and opting to bat first on a slow pitch, Chennai were given a solid platform by Shane Watson and Faf du Plessis, who put on 56 for the first wicket, before Watson was caught by Sam Curran off Ravichandran Ashwin for 26. Du Plessis then added 44 with Suresh Raina but both fell in successive balls to Ashwin; du Plessis who had made 54, including 4 sixes, was caught by David Miller, whilst Raina was bowled for 17.

However, MS Dhoni and Ambati Rayudu, shared an unbeaten stand of 60 as the home side closed on 160 – 3, with Dhoni 37 not out, and Rayudu undefeated on 21.

Punjab suffered as early blow, losing Chris Gayle in the second over, caught behind off Harbhajan Singh, who then had Ambati Rayudu caught by du Plessis two balls later. KL Rahul and Sarfaraz Khan put on 110 for the third wicket, but they were struggling with the run rate, as the Chennai spinners applied a stranglehold.

Rahul was eventually caught by Ravichandran Jadeja off the bowling of Scott Kuggelijn for 55, and the New Zealander then had Kahn, who had hit 2 sixes, caught by du Plessis. David Miller was then bowled by Deepak Chahar, as Punjab finished well short of their target.

Harbhajan Singh who took 2 for 17, was named man of the match.

The Mumbai Indians beat the Sunrisers Hyderabad by 40 runs.

The home side won the toss in Hyderabad, and decided to field first, soon having Mumbai struggling when Mohammad Nabi had Rohit Sharma caught by Deepak Hooda for 11. Suryakumar Yadav was lbw to Sandeep Sharma, and then Siddarth Kaul had Quinton de Kock caught by Hooda for 19. Then Krunal Pandya and Ishan Kishan fell in the space of 8 balls, before Hardik Pandya and Kieron Pollard added 21.

Pandya was out for 14 to the bowling of Rashid Khan, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar took the wicket of Rahul Chahar, but Pollard, who scored 46 not out, including 4 sixes, added some late runs as Mumbai reached to 136 – 7.

Sunrisers struggled in turn, losing both openers, Jonny Bairstow and David Warner, in the space of 3 balls, Bairstow caught by Jasprit Bumrah off Chahar for 16, and Warner bowled by Alzarri Joseph for 15, who shortly afterwards had Vijay Shankar caught. Manish Pandey and Hooda added 17, but two quick wickets fell in the space of 5 balls, Pandey falling to the bowling of Jason Behrendorff, and Yusuf Pathan out to Chahar without scoring.

Hooda and Nabi added 26, but then Hyderabad lost 5 wickets for just 8 runs as they collapsed to 96 all out. First to go was Hooda, bowled by Joseph for 20, followed by Rashid who was caught and bowled by the same bowler. Nabi was caught of the bowling of Bumrah for 11, before Joseph wrapped the innings up, taking the wickets of Kumar and then Kaul in the 18th over.

The West Indian paceman finished with 6 for 12, the best bowling figures in the IPL this season, and deservedly won the man of the match award.

Rajeev mcallister
Sports Pundit staff writer

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image