Cricket Article

Sunrisers Pound Bangalore, Punjab, Chennai & Delhi Win

Sunrisers Pound Bangalore, Punjab, Chennai & Delhi Win Photo: TT

The IPL brigade continued last weekend with all eight teams in action over the weekend. In the first match in Chandigarh, the Kings XI Punjab beat the Mumbai Indians by eight wickets.

Put into bat, Mumbai got off to a reasonable start through Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock, who put on 51, for the first wicket before Rohit fell for 32. Suryakumar Yadav fell cheaply, but de Kock and Yuvraj Singh added 58 before the South African was out for 60, having struck 2 sixes.

Yuvraj fell soon afterwards, leaving Kieron Pollard and Hardik Pandya at the crease. Pollard was out for just 7, but the two Pandyas, Hardik and Krunal, added 16, and then when Krunal was out for 16, Hardik scored 31 before he was the last man to fall, as his side closed on 176 – 7.

In reply, Chris Gayle gave his side an impressive start scoring 40 off just 24 balls, including 4 sixes. When departed, KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal put on 64 for the second wicket, before Agarwal was caught and bowled by Krunal Pandya for 43. His innings last just 21 balls and included 2 sixes. Rahul and David Miller then cruised to their victory target which they reached with 8 balls to spare.

Agarwal was named man of the match.

In the second match of the day, Delhi Capitals beat Kolkata Knight Riders by virtue of a one over eliminator after the scores were tied.

Put into bat in Delhi, Kolkata initially struggled, and, despite Chris Lynn scoring 20, were soon 61 – 5, with Harshal Patel picking up 2 wickets. It was left to Dinesh Karthik and Andre Russell to lead a recovery, and, together, the pair put on 95 for the sixth wicket, Russell leading the way by scoring 62 off just 28 balls, including 4 sixes. When he fell, Karthik added 14 with Piyush Chawla before he was out for 50, having struck 2 sixes. Chawla was then run out for 12, as Kolkata closed on 185 – 8.

In response Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan put on 27 for the first wicket and then, when Dhawan fell for 16, Shaw and his captain Shreyas Iyer shared a stand of 89. Iyer fell to Russell for 43, but then Shaw combined in a partnership of 54 with Risbabh Pant, who scored just 11 of them, before he fell to the bowling of Kuldeep Yadav.

Sadly for Shaw he was caught off the bowling of Lockie Ferguson for 99, having hit 3 sixes and 12 fours, and Kolkata managed to restrict the Delhi scoring rate so that the scores were tied at the end of 20 overs.

The match then went to a Super Over which Kolkata won. Shaw’s innings earned him the man of the match award.

The Sunrisers Hyderabad thrashed the Royal Challengers Bangalore by 118 runs on Sunday.

Put into bat, Sunrisers dominated from the start, as their opening pair of Jonny Bairstow and David Warner put on 185 in a little more than 16 overs. Warner, for once, was outscored, and it was Bairstow who shone, scoring the highest individual innings in the IPL so far this year, making 114 of 56 balls, including 7 sixes. He was caught by Umesh Yadav off Yuzvendra Chahal, and Vijay Shankar was run out for 9 by Shimron Hetmyer, but there was still time for Warner to reach his own century with a six, as the home side closed on 231 – 2. Warner’s 100 not out came off 55 balls, and featured 5 sixes.

Bangalore in their reply were in trouble from the minute that Mohammad Nabi had Parthiv Patel caught for 11 at the end of the second over. In his next over Nabi had Hetmyer stumped, and then he bowled AB de Villiers. Sandeep Sharma collected the prize wicket of Virat Kohli, before Nabi intervened decisively in the game again, first running out Moeen Ali, and then having Shivam Dube caught to reduce the visitors to 35 – 6.

Colin de Grandhomme and Prayas Ray Barman added some respectability to the scoreboard with a stand of 51, but then Sharma returned to have Barman caught for 19. Grandhomme and Yadav added 15, but both were run out, Yadav for 14, and de Grandhomme, the top scorer in the innings, for 37. Chahal was last man out to Sharma, as Bangalore were bowled out for 113 off the penultimate ball.

Nabi took IPL best figures for the season so far of 4 for 11, whilst Sharma finished with 3 for 19.

Jonny Bairstow was given the man of the match award.

In the second match the Chennai Super Kings beat the Rajasthan Royals by 8 runs in Chennai.

Rajasthan won the toss and put Chennai into bat, gaining immediate success when Jofra Archer had Ambati Rayudu caught behind. Ben Stokes then had Shane Watson caught by Archer for 13, with Kedar Jadhav then falling cheaply to Dhawal Kulkarni. But Suresh Raina and MS Dhoni put on 61 for the 4th wicket, and, when Raina was bowled by Jaydev Unadkat for 36, Dwayne Bravo added a further 56 with his captain Dhoni.

Bravo, having hit 27 off 16 balls, including a six, fell in the penultimate over, but Dhoni, partnered by Ravindra Jadeja, saw his side through to 175 – 5, striking some late blows into the bargain. He finished on 75 not out, with 4 sixes to his name.

Rajasthan got off to a dreadful start, losing Ajinkya Rahane, Jos Buttler, and Sanju Samson for just 14 runs scored, with Deepak Chahar claiming two wickets, and Shardul Thakur one. Rahul Tripathi and Steve Smith then added 61, before Tripathi was caught and bowled by Imran Tahir for 39. Smith and Stokes struggled to find momentum, and although the pair added 19, Smith was caught off Tahir for 28. Stokes and his prospective future England team mate Archer then put on 44, that gave their side a late chance of victory, but Stokes, having hit 2 sixes, was out of the first ball of the last over for 46, effectively ending their challenge. Archer, who had hot 2 sixes, was undefeated at the end, but his side fell short in the end.

MS Dhoni won the man of the match award.

Rajeev mcallister
Sports Pundit staff writer

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image