The Texas Chaparrals were a professional basketball team playing with the American Basketball Association in 1970. The Chaparrals are now known as the San Antonio Spurs who play in the National Basketball Association.

The Texas Chaparrals were originally found as the Dallas Chaparrals in 1967. The Chaparrals were among the 11 teams who played in the first year of the ABA’s formation. The team was named after a bird found in the southwest region, also known as a roadrunner. The team logo was a blue chaparral bird dribbling a basketball across an outline of Texas with Chaparrals written in red. The team colors were Blue, White and Red. The team played their home games at the Lubbock Municipal Coliseum and the Tarrant Company Convention Center.

Country United States United States
City Fort Worth, Texas
Founded 1970

In 1970, the Chaparrals were coached by Max Williams and Bill Blakely were renamed as the Texas Chaparrals to gain more support and to appeal to a larger audience. The Chaparrals who initially played and were based in Dallas started playing at Fort Worth and Lubbock in Texas. The idea of attracting larger regional crowds by changing their name failed when the Chaparrals finished with a record of 30 wins and 54 losses. The Chaparrals who still managed to qualify for the playoffs lost four consecutive games against the Utah Stars and returned to play at Dallas, changing their name back to Dallas Chaparrals. The Chaparrals were relocated to San Antonio, Texas in 1973 after which they were christened as the San Antonio Spurs. The Spurs continued to play in the ABA until they moved to play in the National Basketball Association in 1976.

In the only season that the team played as the Texas Chaparrals in 1970, they won a total of 30 games and lost 54 games in a total of 84 games.