Charlotte Hornets are a professional basketball team playing in the NBA. The team came into existence in 1988 after the NBA wanted to expand its league by four teams. George Shinn, who was an entrepreneur in Charlotte, North Carolina, appointed Carl Scheer as the General Manager who with the help of Dick Harter.

In the 1990s, the Hornets stars were Alonzo Mourning and Larry Johnson, while Muggsy Bogues was a popular player too. The side was never able to reach any great heights.

Country United States United States
City Charlotte, North Carolina
Founded 1988
Ground Spectrum Center
Coach Steve Clifford

In 2002, the Hornets moved to New Orleans with declining attendances in Charlotte. Soon after, the Charlotte Bobcats were born and admitted to the NBA in 2004.

NBA great Michael Jordan acquired the Bobcats in 2010. In 2014, the franchise submitted an application to rename from the Bobcats back to the Hornets which was approved for the 2014-15 season.

The side has long struggled and never won a conference and division title.