New Zealand Breakers

Country Australia Australia
City Auckland
Founded 2003

The New Zealand Breakers is a professional basketball team that takes part in the National Basketball League (NBL) of Australia. Along with the Hunter Pirates the NBL was joined by the Breakers in the 2003-04 season as an expansion club. The club is currently owned by Paul Blackwell. This team is the first non-Australian team to take part in the National Basketball League. Black, Blue and White are the teams official colors.

In the 2003-04 season the Breakers had 21 defeats and 12 wins and were ranked the 10th out of 11 teams. The 2004-05 season was not any better for the Breakers where they had 23 losses and 9 wins and was ranked in the 11th and last place in the tournament.

In the 2005-06 season the Breakers recorded 23 losses and 9 wins and occupied the 9th spot amongst 11 teams. The team consisted of Ben Pepper and Rich Melzer who was the American forward. At the Breakers Awards this couple was named as the Players of the Year.

Rich Melzer who was the star power forward signed a two year contract with San Antonio Spurs the star NBA team on 14 July 2006. Adam Darragh the West Sydney Razorbacks point guard was signed by the Breakers on 16 August 2006 as the point guard behind skipper Paul Henare. On 17 August Rich Melzer was replaced by a power forward Ricardo Powell.

Although a new bunch of players was signed for the 2006-07 season the Breakers recorded 22 defeats and 11 wins. The highlight of their play was the American import Carlos Powell who was the leader in the league in scoring and had 28 points per game. While playing against the Melbourne Tigers he scored a 50 point game.

The Breakers play all their home games at the North Shore Events Centre in Auckland. It has a maximum capacity of 4,500. Carlos Powell, Jeff Green, Frank Arsego and Andrej Lemanis are few of the known players of the team.

In the 2008 season the Breakers reached the playoffs for the very first time in team history. However in their first playoff appearance they were defeated by the Brisbane Bullets.

Major achievements

Qualified for the NBA playoffs in 2008

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by MaxD

Bet Play-Money for Fun