Country Russian Federation Russian Federation
City Moscow
Founded 1924

PBC CSKA Moscow is a professional basketball club in Russia which in the past had been associated with the Soviet Army and hence is also called as the Red Army. The team participates in the Russian Basketball Super league and also the Euroleague. Red and Blue are the teams official colors. The team is one of the most competitive teams in Russia.

In the history of the Euroleague this team was the first in history to be undefeated in the regular season phase. This took place in the Euroleague 2004-05 season and prior to the final four this team was only defeated by Barcelona. Eventually in the semi finals of the tournament the team was unable to win against the Spanish Club TAU Ceramica. In the match for 3rd place CSKA once again lost to the Panathinaikos, a Greek Basketball club. This loss saw the club go into the 2nd grade teams in the Euroleague draw. In the finals series in the same year the team lost a game in the Russian League however finally were able to win the Russian league crown.

CSKA was ranked third in their group and hence qualified for the Top 16 in the Euroleague 2005-06. This club occupied a spot in the final four as being the singular club to sweep the best of three quarterfinal series by beating Efes Pilsen, Turkish League. In the Euroleague semi final the team defeated Barca. On 30 April in the final the team defeated the high power offense of Maccabi Tel-Aviv of the Israeli League.

In the next year the team could have become the Euroleague champions again however in the final they had Panathinaikos as the opponent on the OAKA which was the Greek team’s home floor. There was a close battle between the teams which was lost by CSKA. The team plays all their home games at the CSKA Universal Sports Hall in Moscow. It has a maximum capacity 5,500.

Marcus Brown, Victor Alexander, Rusty LaRue, David Vanterpool and Oscar Torres have all been a part of the team at one time or the other.

Major achievements

Won the Russian Basketball Super League Championships consecutively form 1992 till 2007

European Champions Cup Winner in 1961, 1963, 1969, 1971, 2006 and 2008

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by MaxD

Bet Play-Money for Fun