The San Antonio Silver Stars began life as the Utah Starzz, one of the eight original members of the WNBA, founded in 1996, with their inaugeral season beginning in 1997.

In 2002, the NBA divested itself of owenership in all its WNBA teams. The Starzz ownership did not wish to retain control, and sold the team to Peter Holt, the owner of the San Antonio Spurs.

The Silver Stars play their games at the AT&T Center in San Antonio.

Denise Taylor was the first coach, 1997. Frank Layden coached only in 1998. Frank Williams lasted slightly longer, 1999 to 2001. Candi Harvey took over in 2001 until 2003. Shell Dailey was the interim coach in 2003.

The Silver Stars had three different coaches during their transition year in 2004: Dee Brown, Vonn Read and Shell Daily. Dan Hughes has been the General Manager and coach since 2005.

The team has had a winning season only four times in its twelve year history, in the last three seasons as the Starzz (indeed, losing in the Conference Finals in 2002), and as the Silver Stars, in 2007 they once again lost in the Conference Finals.

Country United States United States
City San Antonio, Texas
Founded 1996

They have had many coaches in their existence.

Current team members include Shanna Crossley of Tennessee, Becky Hammon of Colorado State, and Ann Wauters. Unfortunately, Shanna Crossley (nee Zolman) tore her ACL in a pre-season game and is out for the season.