The Phoenix Mercury are one of the eight original WNBA teams. They are a sister team to the Phoenix Sun, and play at the US Airways Center.

The team is owned by partners including Anne Mariucci and Kathy Munro (who invested in 2003), as well as Jerry Colangelo – owner of the Suns.

Country United States United States
City Phoenix, Arizona
Founded 1996
Coach Sandy Brondello

The Mercury have had an up-and-down career in the WNBA, with a 176-181 record. However, behind Diana Taurasi and Cappie Pondexter, they won the WNBA championship, their first, in 2007.

The team has had seven coaches:

Cheryl Miller, from 1997-2000. Cynthia Cooper from 2001-2002. Linda Sharp for a single year, 2002 and John Shumate for a single year in 2003. Carrie Graf had two .500 sesons, from 2004-2005. Paul Westhead led the team to greatness in 2006 and 2007. The current coach is Corey Gaines.

Team Roster

Name Position
Kara Braxton United States power forward
Jennifer Derevjanik United States point guard
Diamond DeShields United States shooting guard
Skylar Diggins-Smith United States point guard
Candice Dupree United States power forward
Brittney Griner United States center
Sequoia Holmes United States power forward
Temeka Johnson United States shooting guard
Kelly Mazzante United States shooting guard
Yuko Oga Japan point guard