New York Liberty

Country United States United States
City New York City, NY
Founded 1996

The Eastern Conference New York Liberty is one of the eight original teams of the WNBA. They are the sister team of the New York Knicks, and play in Madison Square Garden.

The team is owned by Cablevision - as are the New York Knicks and the New York Rangers.

The Liberty have been one of the more successful franchises in the WNBA - winning many conference titles, but always failing to take the final prize - the championship.

In their ten years they’ve only had three coaches: Nancy Darsch from 1997 - 1998, Richie Adubato from 1998 - 2004, and Pat Coyle from 2004 to the present.

There have been many attempts to form professional women’s basketball teams. One such attempt was called the Liberty Basketball Association, which started business in 1991, but because of a dearth of funding never got off the ground. Nevertheless, the New York Liberty purchased the trademark from that business, in order to avoid any potentional suits for copyright infringement.

Rebecca Lobo, a college star with the University of Connecticut, was one of the first members of the Liberty. Unfortunately, injuries cut short her playing career. Point guard Teresa Witherspoon was also a big star.

For the 2008 season, the Liberty have Essence Carson of Rutgers and Erlana Larkins of Duke, as well as Janel McCarville and Jessica Davenport. Tennessee is represented by Loree Moore, UConn by Ashley Battle.

Team Roster

Name Position
Anitra Blue United States point guard
Essence Carson United States shooting guard
Megan Duffy United States point guard
Katie Feenstra United States center
Sabrina Ionescu United States point guard
Betnijah Laney United States small forward
Janel McCarville United States center
Leilani Mitchell United States shooting guard
Erin Thorn United States shooting guard
Sami Whitcomb United States shooting guard

Bet Play-Money for Fun