The Houston Comets is one of the original teams of the WNBA, which was founded in 1996. Their inaugural season was in 1997. The Comets were the first dynasty in the WNBA, winning the first four championships.

The Comets are in the Western Conference, where they do battle with the Los Angeles Sparks,Minnesota Lynx, Phoenix Mercury, Sacramento Monarchs, San Antonio Silver Stars and the Seattle Storm.

The owner of the team since 2007 is furniture magnate Hilton Koch. Their head coach and general manager is Karleen Thompson, and they play at Reliant Arena.

Van Chancellor, currently coach of Louisiana State University’s Lady Tigers, had coached the Comets from their inaugeral season to 2006. Karleen Thompson has had the reins since 2007.

Country United States United States
City Houston, Texas
Founded 1997

The Comets lost their signature player in early 2008, when 11-year veteran of the team Sheryl Swoopes signed with the Seattle Storm. The team has four rookies: Matee Ajavon of Rutgers, Sequoia Holmes from Nevada-Las Vegas, Marcedes Walker from Pittsburgh, and Erica White from Louisiana State.