The Connecticut Sun was founded in 2003, but they began their WNBA career as the Orlando Miracle, from 1999 to 2002. At the end of 2002, the NBA sold off the WNBA team franchies to the owners of the men’s teams. The owner of the Orlando Magic declined to purchase the Miracle.

The Mohegan Native American tribe purchased the team, and moved it to Connecticut, where it became known as the Connecticut Sun. They play on the grounds of the Mohegan Sun Casino, in the Mohegan Sun Arena.

The General Manager is Chris Sienko, the coach is Mike Thibault.

Coaches for the team have included Carolyn Peck - who coached from 1999 to 2001, former Celtic Dee Brown who took the reins in 2002, and Mike Thibault, who has helmed the team since they moved to Connecticut.

Country United States United States
City Uncasville, Connecticut
Founded 2003

The Sun have a strong UConn presence on their team, which will surprise no one. Indeed, UConn star Rebecca Lobo, now a sideline reporter, was one of the first members of the WNBA. The team also has Lindsay Whalen, a star for the Minnesota Gophers during her college years.