The Tulsa Shock> is a women’s national basketball association (WNBA) team which is based in Tulsa in Oklahoma. This team was founded in 1998 as the Detroit Shock and was known to be one of the league’s first expansion franchises. The team was also the first ever WNBA expansion franchise to have won the WNBA Championship.

The team is also one of the two WNBA franchises whose city has an NBA D-League team, the Tulsa 66ers. On 20th October, 2009, WNBA officially announced that the team would move to Tulsa. From 1998 to 2009, the team was referred to as Detroit Shock and from 2010 to till date; it is referred to as Tulsa Shock.

Country United States United States
City Oklahoma
Founded 1998

Tulsa Pro Hoops LLC is the owner of this team where Nolan Richardson is the General Manager of the team who is also the Head Coach of the team.

All of the home matches of Tulsa Shock of the 2010 season are shown on Fox Sports Oklahoma or COX3. Some of the matches are carried in national level by ESPN2, NBA TV or ABC.

Few of the rosters of the team are Chante Black, Kiesha Brown, Shanna Crossley, Amber Holt and Marion Jones.

Major Achievements

Tulsa Shock has won three Championships, in 2003, 2006 and in 2008. They won the Conference titles four times, in 2003, 2006, 2007 and in 2008.