The Sacramento Kings is a professional basketball player in the National Basketball Association. They were established in 1946 and hold 1 NBL Championship and 1 NBA Championship.

Team Profile

The Sacramento Kings also known simply as Sacramento or the Kings, were established in 1923. They play in the National Basketball Association in the Western Conference and the Pacific Division.

Their current home arena is Golden 1 Center in Sacramento, California. Their team colors are pure black, royal purple, gray, white, and royal blue. They are affiliated with the Stockton Kings in the NBA G League.

As of 2024, the team’s Head Coach is Mike Brown.

Other team names that the Kings have gone by include Rochester Seagrams (1923–1942), Rochester Eber Seagrams (1942–1943), Rochester Pros (1943–1945), Rochester Royals 1945–1948 (NBL) - 1948–1957 (NBA), Cincinnati Royals (1957–1972), Kansas City-Omaha Kings (1972–1975), Kansas City Kings (1975–1985), and most recently the Sacramento Kings (1985–present).

Country United States United States
City Sacramento, California
Founded 1923
Ground Golden 1 Center
Nickname Kings
Coach Mike Brown

The team is owned by Vivek Ranadivé. The General Manager is Monte McNair and the Team President is John Rinehart.


In its debut season in 1946, the Kings won their first NBL championship.

In 1947, the Kings had a 31-13 season, and they won the second NBL championship but were defeated by the then-Chicago American Gears.

In 1949, the Kings moved on to the NBA. In 1951, the Kings won the NBA Championship title after beating the New York Knickerbockers. To date, this is the last championship in the history of the franchise.

The year 1990 was one of the most disappointing in NBA history the team was able to win only 1 game after playing 40 games.

In 1996, the Kings squeaked into the playoffs largely due to the effort of star player Mitch Richmond, but they did not do well in the postseason.

Following the 2000 season, the Kings traded starting small forward Corliss Williamson to the Toronto Raptors for defensive shooting guard Doug Christie.

With the addition of Bibby, the Kings had their best season to date in 2001-02. The team finished with a league-best record of 61-21 and stormed through the first two rounds of the playoffs and made it to the Finals where they faced the Lakers and lost.

In 2023, they won a division title for the first time in 20 years. The last one was back in 2003.

Notable Players

Some of the former Kings players who have been named to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame include Bob Davies, Oscar Robertson, Ralph Sampson, and Chris Webber.

Popular players on the current roster include De’Aaron Fox, Domantas Sabonis, Harrison Barnes, Chris Duarte, and Kessler Edwards.

Major Achievements

  • 1 NBL Championships
  • 1 NBA Championships
  • 11 Division Titles

Sacramento Kings FAQ