The Phoenix Suns is a professional basketball team in the National Basketball Association.

Team Profile

The Phoenix Suns, also known simply as Phoenix or the Suns, were established in 1968. They play in the National Basketball Association in the Western Conference and the Pacific Division.

Their current home arena is Footprint Center in Phoenix, Arizona. Their team colors are purple, orange, black, gray, and yellow.

As of 2024, the team’s Head Coach is Frank Vogel.


The 1968-69 season was the debut season for the Suns. In 1976, they finished the season with 42 wins and 40 losses, the first winning season for the Suns in franchise history.

They also beat the defending NBA champion Golden State Warriors in the playoffs and went on to play the Boston Celtics in the NBA Finals. They gave the Celtics a hard time in the Finals but eventually, the Celtics were victorious.

In 1992, All-Star power forward Charles Barkley was traded from the Philadelphia 76ers for Jeff Hornacek, Andrew Lang, and Tim Perry.

Country United States United States
City Phoenix, Arizona
Founded 1968
Ground Footprint Center
Nickname Suns
Coach Frank Vogel

The team is owned by Mat and Justin Ishbia and the General Manager is James Jones who is also the Franchise President.

Barkley won his first NBA MVP with the Suns that season. With the likes of Barkley, Majerle Johnson, and Danny Ainge, the team managed to win 62 games and qualified for the playoffs.

In the first round of the playoffs, they defeated the eighth-seeded Los Angeles Lakers, coming back from a 0-2 deficit in the five-game series. The Suns went on to eliminate the San Antonio Spurs and Seattle SuperSonics, advancing to the Finals for the second time in franchise history.

They eventually lost to the Chicago Bulls, which was led by Superstars Michael Jordan and Scottie Pippen. Despite losing the NBA finals, the Suns managed to grab the Western Conference Title.

Amare Stoudemire from Cypress Creek High School emerged during the 2002-03 campaign. In the 2002-03 season, he won the NBA Rookie of the Year award and was the first ever high school player to do so. In this season, the Suns managed a record of 44-38 after which they returned to the playoffs.

In the first round, the Spurs eliminated the Suns after there was a six-game series.

Their most recent division title came in 2022. The year before that, they also won their Conference Title.

Notable Players

Some of the former Suns players who have received the Ring of Honor include Walter Davis, Kevin Johnson, Steve Nash, Charles Barkley, Tom Chambers, and more.

Popular players on the current roster include Kevin Durant, Devin Booker, Drew Bookers, and Grayson Allen.

Major Achievements

  • 3 Conference Titles
  • 8 Division Titles

Phoenix Suns FAQ