Golden State Warriors

Sport Basketball
Country United States United States
Home town Oakland, California
Founding year 1946
Leagues National Basketball Association

The Golden State Warriors is an American professional basketball team playing under the Western conference of the National Basketball Association (NBA) based in Oakland, California. The warriors are a part of the pacific division in the Western conference. The team was established in the year 1946. The owner of the team is Chris Cohan and the team is currently training under the head coach Don Nelson. The team was originally founded in Philadelphia and was known as the Philadelphia Warriors. Currently the Golden State Warriors became the only NBA team that does not include the name of their state or city in their team name.

In their debut season itself the Warriors won the Basketball Association of America title (The BAA became the National Basketball Association in 1949) in the year 1946. In the 1955-56 season the Warriors once again made it through to the finals of the NBA Championship. They defeated the Fort Wayne Pistons four games to one in the finals and acquired the NBA championship for the second time.

In the 1974-75 season the warriors won their only championship on the west coast. With the likes of Rick Barry, Jamaal Wilkes and Phil Smith the warriors went on to defeat the Washington Bullets and achieved their third NBA championship title.

The Oracle Arena also known as the Oakland Coliseum Arena is the home court to the Golden State Warriors. The maximum capacity of the arena is 19,596.

Several players like Paul Arizin, Rick Barry, Wilt Chamberlain, Joe Fulks, Tom Gola, Neil Johnston, Jerry Lucas, Robert Parish and Andy Philip have all been a part of the team at some time or the other and their names are also found in the Hall of Famers.

In the 2006-2007 season the Warriors played their first playoffs after a long period of 13 years. They beat the Dallas Mavericks in the first game of the playoffs but later were crushed down in the 2nd game. Then the Warriors found their strength and bounced back in the 3rd, 4th and the 5th by wining the series 3-2. On May 3, 2007 once again the Warriors beat the Mavericks and became the only 8th seeded team in the history of NBA to beat the 1st seeded team. This was the Warriors first playoff series win in 16 years.

The 2007-08 season was a complete disappointment for the Warriors as compared to the preceding season. Despite of wining 48 matches in the regular season the team did not make it to the playoffs.

Major achievements

7 Division titles6 Western Conference titles3 NBA championships (1947, 1956, 1975)

Show more less

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by Elfmeter
  • Share this page:

Latest Articles

Draymond Green Agrees to Warriors’ Four-Year Extension

Draymond Green Agrees to Warriors’ Four-Year Extension

Draymond Green entered the offseason with a vow to the Golden State Warriors that they would still become a contender for NBA titles. Th Continue reading

A New Era for Warriors Indicates the Start of a New NBA Era

A New Era for Warriors Indicates the Start of a New NBA Era

In the NBA, dominance is indicated not just in how many victories a team acquires, but also how far its ideas have spread Continue reading

Kendrick Perkins Explains Why Kevin Durant Left the Warriors

Kendrick Perkins Explains Why Kevin Durant Left the Warriors

During his stay with the Golden State Warriors, Kevin Durant was successful and earned two NBA championships, as well as two NBA Finals MVPs. Wi Continue reading

NBA Free Agency, Day 1: Winners and Losers

NBA Free Agency, Day 1: Winners and Losers

The NBA free agency circus is off and running, and chaos ensues even on its opening hours Continue reading

Team Roster

Name Position
Stephen Jackson
Kelenna Azubuike shooting guard
Anthony Morrow
Corey Maggette
Brandan Wright
Marco Belinelli
Anthony Randolph
Monta Ellis
Al Harrington
C.J. Watson

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post
How will they win next season? 1