Portland Trail Blazers

Country United States United States
City Portland, Oregon
Founded 1970
National Basketball Association

The Portland Trailblazers are a professional basketball team playing under the Northwest division of the Western conference of the National Basketball Association (NBA). The team is situated in Portland, Oregon. The team was established in the year 1970. Kevin Pritchard is currently the owner of the team and Nate McMillan is the head coach of the team. Red, black, silver, and white are the official colors of the team. The team is also commonly known by the name of Blazers.

In the early years of the team’s existence it failed to qualify for the NBA postseason in their first six years. The team was led by Geoff Petrie and Sidney Wicks. In that season due to internal matters and the team’s very poor performance the Blazers had to change 3 different head coaches.

In the 1977 season the American Basketball Association (ABA) had merged with the NBA. The Trail Blazers selected Maurice Lucas in the dispersal draft also hired Jack Ramsay as head coach. The team opened their first winning record of 49–33, and its first playoff appearance. After making it to the playoffs the Blazers were able to achieve their first and only NBA championship.

In the 1990 season the Blazers once again made it to the NBA finals. They went to loose to the Detroit Pistons but were successful in clinching the Conference title. In the year 1992 the Blazers were once again able to qualify for the NBA finals but however eventually lost to the Chicago Bulls this time.

The Rose Garden Arena is the home arena for the Portland Trailblazers. It has a maximum capacity of 20,630. Famous players like Bob McAdoo, Larry Bird and Sam Bowie were all part of the team at one point or the other.

Steve Patterson resigned as team president during the spring of 2007. The team had a record of 32-50 on the court which was an improvement by 11 games. The NBA Draft Lottery of 2007 was won by the Blazers and Greg Oden the Ohio State center was chosen with the #1 pick in the draft. In the 2007-08 season the Blazers had a winning streak of 13 games that started in early December and the team had a 13-2 record which was the best for the NBA for the month of December. For the 2008 NBA All-star game Roy was named as a reserve and he became the first All-star for the team after Rasheed Wallace in 2001. The Blazers finished the season at 41-41 record, their best since the 2003-04 season. They are ranked 3rd at Northwest division at the end of the season. The 2008-09 Portland Trail Blazers season will be the 39th season of the franchise in the NBA.

Major achievements

4 Division titles – 3 Conference titles – 1 NBA championship (1977)

Show more less

Team Roster

Name Position
LaMarcus Aldridge United States power forward
Jerryd Bayless United States shooting guard
Ruben Bertrand Boumtje Boumtje United States center
Ike Diogu United States
Rudy Fernandez Spain shooting guard
Channing Frye United States power forward
Josh Hart United States shooting guard
Raef LaFrentz United States power forward
Damian Lillard United States
Nassir Little United States small forward

Bet Play-Money for Fun