The San Antonio Spurs is a professional basketball team from the United States of America. They are one of the most successful teams in the National Basketball Association with 5 NBA Championship titles, 6 Conference Titles, and 22 Division Titles.

Team Profile

The San Antonio Spurs also known simply as San Antonio or the Spurs, were established in 1967. They play in the National Basketball Association in the Western Conference and the Southwest Division.

Their current home arena is Frost Bank Center in San Antonio, Texas. Their team colors are black and white. They are affiliated with the Austin Spurs in the NBA G League.

As of 2024, the team’s Head Coach is Gregg Popovich. He has been named NBA Coach of the Year three times while serving the Spurs.

Throughout their history, they have been known as the Dallas Chaparrals from 1967–1970 and 1971–1973 while in the American Basketball Association. They were also known as the Texas Chaparrals from 1970–1971- still in the ABA.

Country United States United States
City San Antonio, Texas
Founded 1967
Ground frost Bank Center
Nickname Spurs
Coach Gregg Popovich

The team is owned by Spurs Sports & Entertainment and the General Manager is Brian Wright.

When the team relocated to San Antonio, they were renamed the San Antonio Spurs in 1973. They kept the name when they moved to the NBA in 1976.


The team won their first NBA Championship title in 1999 – winning against the New York Knicks. They would go on to win four more NBA titles – in 2003, 2005, 2007, and 2014. They also made it to the NBA Finals in 2013 but lost.

In addition to the Championships, the Spurs also have 6 Conference Titles to their name and they have a total of 22 Division Titles, starting in 1978 to the most recent one in 2017.

Notable Players

Some of the most notable players who have been part of the Spurs roster at one time or another include Hall of Famers David Robinson and Tim Duncan. Robinson was named the NBA Most Valuable Player in 1995 while Duncan was given the same honor in 2002 and again in 2003. Both players were also named NBA Rookie of the Year.

Duncan was also named the NBA Finals MVP in 1999, 2003, and 2005. Other Spurs who were named the Finals MVP include Tony Parker, named in 2017, and Kawhi Leonard, named in 2014.

Notable Rivalries

Teams that the Spurs have had notable rivalries with include the Los Angeles Lakers, Dallas Mavericks, Phoenix Suns, and the Houston Rockets.

Major Achievements

  • 5 NBA Championships
  • 6 Conference Titles
  • 22 Division Titles

San Antonio Spurs FAQ