The New Orleans Pelicans is a professional basketball team in the National Basketball Association (NBA). In 2008, they won the Southwest Division title.

Team Profile

The New Orleans Pelicans, also known simply as New Orleans or the Pelicans, were established in 2002.

They play in the National Basketball Association in the Western Conference and the Southwest Division.

The team is owned by Gayle Benson, the General Manager is Trajan Langdon, and the Franchise President is Dennis Lauscha.

As of 2024, the team’s Head Coach is Willie Green.


Charlotte Hornets owner George Shinn established the New Orleans Pelicans in 2002. For a short while, they were known as the New Orleans Hornets or the Oklahoma City Hornets when the team relocated to Oklahoma City following the damage from Hurricane Katrina.

The NBA would later grant the Charlotte Hornets to return to the NBA while also allowing the New Orleans Pelicans to keep their franchise.

The team debuted for the first time in New Orleans on October 30, 2002, against the Utah Jazz and won with a 100-75 win record. They qualified for the playoffs but went down to the Philadelphia 76ers.

Country United States United States
City New Orleans, Louisiana
Founded 1988
Ground Smoothie King Center
Nickname Pelicans
Coach Willie Green

Their current home arena is the Smoothie King Center in New Orleans, Louisiana. Their team colors are navy blue, gold, and red. They are affiliated with the Birmingham Squadron in the NBA G League.

Since their establishment, the team’s best result came in 2008 when they won their first Division Title. The team won 56 games at the end of the regular season.

Notable Players

Some of the more notable players to have played for the Pelicans include Chris Paul, Anthony Davis, Brandon Ingram, and Zion Williamson.

Major Achievements

  • 1 Division Titles

New Orleans Pelicans FAQ