Michigan Wolverines

Country United States United States
City Ann Arbor
Founded 1908
NCAA Basketball

Representing the University of Michigan, the Michigan Wolverines are a intercollegiate basketball team that takes part in the NCAA (National Collegiate Athlete Association) Division I Big Ten Conference championships. The Wolverines plays at their home arena which is located in Crisler Arena in Michigan with a capacity of 13,751.

The team was established in 1908 and in their early days, due to lack of a basketball program the team stopped attending the games and basketball was not played for the university until returning in 1919. In 1919, Edward Mather was appointed the head coach for the team and he led his team to 3 Big Nine (former name of Big Ten) conference titles. In 1946, Ozzie Cowles coached the team to a Conference Championship title and ended a continuous 19-year stream without any conference title.

In 1960, Dave Strack was appointed as a coach for the team and he led the team to their 3 consecutive Big Ten championship titles. The team also appeared at the NCAA tournament the same year and ended up finishing third-best. In 1964-65, the team recorded an undefeated 11-0 home season winning score. The United Press International named Strack Coach of the Year for the same season. The team scored heights of being the topmost team in Associated Press and United Press Association national records.

Jonny Orr who succeeded Strack as coach also was quite successful with the team. He took the team to 2 Big Ten championships wins and was named the Coach of the Year for the same. The team earned four consecutive NCAA appearances from 1974-77. Orr got a National Association of Basketball Coaches award for the Coach of the Year in 1976. Steve Fisher who joined the team in 1989 took the team to 6 consecutive wins and championship titles.

In 1996, the program was rocked with allegations of basketball team booster Ed Martin relations with some of the team members. Five players were accused of having taken a loan from Martin and after an investigation that followed, the charges were confirmed. The university in 2002 banned itself from appearing for the post season play and offered to return all funds earned during the period. This cost the program a loss of records from the 1997 National Invitation Tournament, and the 1998 Big Ten Tournament and the NCAA Division I Tournaments of 1992 and 1993.

Major Achievements

Won an NCAA Championship in

Won the NIT (national Invitation Tournament) title on 2 occasions

Won 12 Big Ten Conference championships.

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by MaxD

Bet Play-Money for Fun