Michigan State Spartans

Country United States United States
City Michigan
Founded 1898
NCAA Basketball

The Michigan State Spartans represent the Michigan State university in the Michigan state of US. The team currently competes at the NCAA (National Collegiate Athletic Association) Division I under the Big Ten Conference. The team’s home arena is located at Breslin Center which has a capacity to hold 16,000 people.

The team got their first coach as Charles O. Bemies in 1989-1901. Over the years, the Spartans have received guidance from 16 coaches amongst whom; Jud Heathcote has been the most successful ever recording 340 wins and 0.637 percentage records. The team’s current coach, Tom Izzo is with the team since 14 years and is the second-best coach after Heathcote. Under Izzo, the team has won the 2000 NCAA Championship title, 5 Big Ten Conference Titles, 2 Big Ten Tournament titles and has appeared for 5 Final Fours.

Jud Heathcote joined the team in 1976-77 season and coached the legendary Earvin “Magic” Johnson. He led the team to 3 Big Ten Championship wins, 9 NCAA appearances and 3 NIT (National Invitation Tournament) appearances. The team also won an NCAA championship in 1978-79 season. Izzo joined the bench for Spartans in 1995. He has also led the team to various wins and appearances.

Izzo was awarded the 1998 Associated Press National Coach of the Year award, the 1998 United States Basketball Writers Association Henry Iba Coach of the Year award, the 1998 Basketball News National Coach of the Year award, the 1998 Basketball Times Middleeast Coach of the Year award, the 1998 Big Ten Conference Coach of the award, and many more. In the current year, he was selected as the Big Ten Conference Coach of the Year award winner for 2009.

Major Achievements

Won 2 NCAA Championship titles in 1979 and 2000

Won 11 Big Ten Conference Championships titles and 2 Big Ten Tournament titles

Reached to Final Fours 7 times and has appeared for 22 NCAA championships

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by MaxD

Bet Play-Money for Fun