Ohio State Buckeyes

Country United States United States
City Columbus
Founded 1898
NCAA Basketball

Representing the University of Ohio, the Ohio state Buckeyes are a member of the NCAA (National Collegiate Athletic Association) Division I. The team has made 20 NCAA tournament appearances while winning a Big Ten Conference title in 1960. The team plays at their home ground located at Columbus in Ohio.

The journey for men’s basketball team began in 1898 with the formation of the first ever team. Harold Olsen was the first coach of the team and stayed with the team under his 24 season tenure. Olsen led has team to their first ever NCAA tournament championship game but they lost to Oregon in the finals. The team also appeared for 3 Final Four appearances and won their first Big ten Conference title in 1925.

Ohio won their first ever NCAA Championship title in 1960 under coach Fred Taylor, who succeeded Olsen. Taylor left the team after 18 seasons tenure with the team winning 7 conference titles and a 65% winning record. Jim O’Brian who was appointed the head coach in 1997 led the team to four successive 20+ win seasons, 2002 Big Ten Tournament title, two Big Ten regular season co-championships and 4 consecutive NCAA tournament appearances which remains a school record till this date.

Confusions erupted when the team was charged with NCAA rule violation. In March of 2006, the Ohio state levied 3 years probation on the team and ordered it to return all their income from the tournament wins during 1999 till 2002. The state also removes all the references of the team’s participation or accomplishments of those three years which included a Final Four appearance in 1999.

In 2004, the team got a new head coach, Thad Matta, who is still serving the team management. Ohio has already clinched 2 Big Ten Conference titles under his reign, 2 NCAA tournament appearances and 1 Conference Tournament win. Matta is currently having a win percentage of 78.6% overall and 72.9% for Conference.

Major Achievements

NCAA champions at the 1960 tournament.

NIT champions in 1986 tournament and 2008 tournament

2 NCAA Final Four appearances

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by MaxD

Bet Play-Money for Fun