The Orlando Magic is a professional basketball player in the National Basketball Association. They were established in 1989 but are yet to win their first NBA Championship.

Team Profile

The Orlando Magic, also known simply as Orlando or the Magic, was established in 1989. They play in the National Basketball Association in the Eastern Conference and the Southeast Division.

Their current home arena is Kia Center in Orlando, Florida. Their team colors are blue, black, and silver. They are affiliated with the Osceola Magic in the NBA G League.

As of 2024, the team’s Head Coach is Jamahl Mosley.


The Orlando Magic officially entered the NBA as an expansion franchise in 1989.

The Magic hired Matt Guokas as the team’s first coach, who helped the Magic select twelve players in the NBA Expansion Draft on June 15, 1989. The first game the Magic played on November 4, 1989, at the Orlando Arena (O-Rena) against the visiting New Jersey Nets, who won 111- 106 in a hard-fought game.

Country United States United States
City Orlando, Florida
Founded 1989
Ground Kia Center
Nickname Magic
Coach Jamahl Mosley

The team is owned by RDV Sports, Inc. (Dan DeVos as chairman) and the General Manager is Anthony Parker, the CEO is Alex Martins and the Franchise President is Jeff Weltman.

The Magic’s first victory came two days later, as the Magic defeated the New York Knicks 118–110 in Orlando.

During the 1994-95 season, which was the sixth season of the Magic, Horace Grant who was an All-Star forward was acquired from the Chicago Bulls as a free agent. They also signed a young Shaquille O’Neal in the 1992 NBA Draft.

His presence helped the team reach the conference finals in 1995. Penny Hardaway also helped lead the team at that time.

In 2009, the Magic reached the NBA Finals for the second time, losing 4-1 to the Los Angeles Lakers.

Orlando’s stars from that side included Dwight Howard, who was a defensive league leader for rebounds and blocks, along with Rashard Lewis, Hedo Turkoglu, and Jameer Nelson.

Notable Players

Notable players like O’Neal, Dominique Wilkins, and Patrick Ewing have all played for the team at one time or the other.

Other notable players who have played for the team include Dwight Howard, Nick Anderson, Nikola Vucevic, Tracy McGrady, Penny Hardaway, Victor Oladipo, and Jameer Nelson.

While with the team, Howard was named the NBA Defensive Player of the Year thrice. O’Neal, Mike Miller, and Paolo Banchero were named NBA Rookie of the Year.


Doc Rivers also coached the Magic and in 2000, he was named the NBA Coach of the Year.

Major Achievements

  • 2 Conference Titles
  • 6 Division Titles

Orlando Magic FAQ