Wyoming Cowboys

Country United States United States
City Wyoming
Founded 1905
Website wyomingathletics.com
NCAA Basketball

Wyoming Cowboys is the name of the men’s basketball team of the University of Wyoming. For the women’s team, the name is Wyoming Cowgirls. The university is a member of the Mountain West Conference which competes in NCAA Division I and comprises of 15 varsity teams.

The men’s team has a lengthy tradition which dates back to 1905. The team till date has achieved their first NCAA Championship title in 1943 under Everett Shelton. This team defeated Georgetown University by 46-34 and thus won the NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Championship game. Overall, the team made a total of 14 appearances in the NCAA Tournament. Since the formation of the Mountain West in 1999, Wyoming has won over two conference titles, which includes championship in 2002. The color of the team is Brown and Gold.

The Wyoming basketball program actually came into concept in 1904 when Laramie Town team, a group challenged a team from this university to a basketball game. Wyoming won this game by a score of 17-5. This way, the team came forward and developed their basketball skills. The team rose to prominence in the 1930s under their coach, Willard Witte.

Throughout 1950s and 1960s, this team struggled to win but managed to make an NCAA Tourney appearance again only in 1967. In 1980s, Fennis Marx Dembo was a popular player of this team. This team plays their home basketball games at the Arena-Auditorium in Laramie in Wyoming. This auditorium is a 15,028 seat multipurpose arena which opened in 1982 and is home to both men’s and women’s teams.

Career highlights

The Wyoming Cowboys won five championships in the Western Athletic Conference, one championship in the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference and eight championships in the Skyline Conference.

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by MaxD

Bet Play-Money for Fun